Tom Glaister, male, 18

Ref 48960

Nationality: United Kingdom
Currently based in: guildford, United Kingdom
Looking for: Worldwide opportunities
Experience: 0 ocean miles / 500 coastal miles
Hi, I'm Tom, I'm an 18 year old living in England, and am really keen to do more offshore sailing, particularly the ARC. I have done some coastal sailing in Greece, Croatia and the South and East Coasts of England. I also do a lot of dinghy sailing, having sailed since I was very young in dingys like optimists, mirrors, fevas, 420's and now RS200s, as well as having sailed lots in J70's, J109's and other various keelboats. I'm at school sitting a levels at the moment, I would say that I am enthusiastic, friendly and easy to get on with. Other than sailing, I enjoy playing rugby, football and cricket.
Smoking: non-smoker
Relationship status: single
Dietary requirements:
Languages: English;
Social Links:


Tom’s Sailing Experience

Number of years sailing: 10+
Sea miles sailed: Ocean: 0 / Coastal: 500
Nights at sea: 50+
I have experience as: Crew
print
Invite this crew to
Sailing Skills Experienced
I have done this many times and am confident to help others less experienced. I am happy doing this day
Competent
I am competent doing this in daylight, or if there is someone more experienced with me
Basic
I have only done this a few times, but I am willing to learn
None
I have not done this before
Steer a compass course x
Keep lookout/watch-keeping x
Trimming sails – mainsail and foresail/jib x
Reefing x
Working the foredeck – setting sails including spinnakers and cruising chutes x
Navigating with GPS and paper charts at sea x
Anchoring and handling anchors x
Cooking at sea x
Using dinghies with outboard motors x
Heaving-to and other heavy weather tactics x

Other nautical or cruising skills

Using VHF radiox
brought to you by