Sophie Poortermans, female, 40

Ref 44113

Nationality: Netherlands
Currently based in: Amsterdam, Netherlands
Looking for: Caribbean; Western Europe & North Atlantic Islands;
Experience: 350 ocean miles / 200 coastal miles
I'm Sophie, a 40 year old, sporting Dutch woman with a good sense of humour, great energy and a positive attitude. A few years back I got in touch with sailing again and since then I have been sailing. First on a VO60 (ambassador of the Ocean Race Academy), did some regatta's in the Carib and around Ibiza In the Netherlands I joint a racing team (IMX38) with whom I have been sailing various races over the last couple of years. Something I still aim to do is a trans-Atlantic crossing and since I'm in between jobs at the moment, it's a perfect match! Other than Dutch I speak English, am willing to learn, love to take on anything that needs to be done and to end with are really looking forward to go on this adventure!
Smoking: non-smoker
Relationship status: single
Dietary requirements:
Languages: English;
Social Links:


Sophie’s Sailing Experience

Number of years sailing: 10+
Sea miles sailed: Ocean: 350 / Coastal: 200
Nights at sea: 1-10
I have experience as: Crew
print
Invite this crew to
Sailing Skills Experienced
I have done this many times and am confident to help others less experienced. I am happy doing this day
Competent
I am competent doing this in daylight, or if there is someone more experienced with me
Basic
I have only done this a few times, but I am willing to learn
None
I have not done this before
Steer a compass course x
Keep lookout/watch-keeping x
Trimming sails – mainsail and foresail/jib x
Reefing x
Working the foredeck – setting sails including spinnakers and cruising chutes x
Navigating with GPS and paper charts at sea x
Anchoring and handling anchors x
Cooking at sea x
Using dinghies with outboard motors x
Heaving-to and other heavy weather tactics x
brought to you by