Nina Sletten, female, 34

Ref 11242

Nationality: Norway
Currently based in: Oslo, Norway
Looking for: Worldwide opportunities
Experience: 3200 ocean miles / 490 coastal miles
Hia! Now 34 year old Norwegian designer living in Oslo. Since I've grown up as far from the coast as you can get in the country sea life is something I've had to learn from the age of 24 when I discovered sailing, and the sea legs can fade a bit over time, but it is my absolute favourite activity and way of life. I've typed up a short story about me here so you can get a fuller honest picture. The goal is to rather be better than expected than disappoint. Enjoy (or not, who am I to decide): The favourite experience of my life was Mexico -> French Polynesia in 2019, and devastated COVID kept me from continuing with crossings for so long. The next wishes are the Atlantic and Greenland (if I can deal with the cold). On board my Pacific crossing we did two hour shifts around the clock when sailing, which means I did two hour night watches for about 35 nights. Was able to ask the skipper or a more experienced crew member when seeing rough weather ahead on the radar or other stuff happened, but developing well as we went and if given the trust and confidence I'll develop pretty rapidly and be very happy about it. My least favourite thing to do aboard is cooking, but with full understanding that it's a part of the daily tasks shared on board. I'll do the dishes with a smile. I love learning in general, from trimming sails to general boat maintenance and will if I can stick my head over your shoulder, or even better get a go myself. I've been up the mast for different reasons many times. I'm more than used to adapting to new skippers and crew, new and different people in general; I've had plenty of AirBnb guests, worked as a volunteer on both festivals (band host, those tour managers can be demanding) and in the Red Cross (former inmates buddy) along with the standard flat sharing during uni. I'm able to adapt and open to different people, and experienced enough not to be too naive and think that everyone will necessarily get along like besties and behave like angels in this type of situation. It's part of the challenge and experience how you go about it, and everyone has their buttons. Mine's arrogance, condescendance and pointing fingers. Olly can give you a reference from our crossing if wanted, other skippers from previous years would also be happy to. My Pacific crossing skipper (Olly again) had a rule of discussing anything except politics and religion, which I thought was clever and quite relaxing, but it's of course up to any skipper to apply their own rules on board, and i respect adapt to whatever sensible. One skipper I spoke to thought everyone on board should be comfortable going to the toilet with the door open; going a tad far, but I think I'd adjust to that knowing it up front. Interesting social experience. I'm extrovert and like being stuck with other people aboard a yacht over time more than most, though like anyone else I need a bit of my alone time in my bunk or on the front deck with a spotify playlist, some books or a dumb series from time to time. You'll see me journaling a lot about my experience and life in general. A humourous approach to life, also (non-fatal) mistakes is my in my experience the best way of going about. Taking responsibility for own mistakes and understanding the gravity of a bad decision is necessary, however making crew feel useless and not able to improve is in my eyes not helpful. But again that's my eyes, I'm not to tell you how to handle your crew. I laugh a lot, I joke a lot, I can get annoyed but I don't hold grudges. So that's a lot about me, apologies and you're welcome.
Smoking: non-smoker
Relationship status: partnered
Dietary requirements: No personal restrictions. No problem doing a vegan or vegetarian diet on board, maybe except eggs; not the biggest fan of eating lots of red meat.
Languages: English; Norwegian
Social Links:


Nina’s Sailing Experience

Number of years sailing: 4 to 9
Sea miles sailed: Ocean: 3200 / Coastal: 490
Nights at sea: 11-49
I have experience as: Crew
print
Invite this crew to
Sailing Skills Experienced
I have done this many times and am confident to help others less experienced. I am happy doing this day
Competent
I am competent doing this in daylight, or if there is someone more experienced with me
Basic
I have only done this a few times, but I am willing to learn
None
I have not done this before
Steer a compass course x
Keep lookout/watch-keeping x
Trimming sails – mainsail and foresail/jib x
Reefing x
Working the foredeck – setting sails including spinnakers and cruising chutes x
Navigating with GPS and paper charts at sea x
Anchoring and handling anchors x
Cooking at sea x
Using dinghies with outboard motors x
Heaving-to and other heavy weather tactics x

Other nautical or cruising skills

Repairing or making sailsx
Using radarx

Other nautical or relevant qualifications

Qualification Awarding Level Year
Båtlappen 0
Advanced Open Water Diver 0

Voyage History

Date Boat From/To Miles Role # Crew Rally
2021 Ålesund, Norway/Kristiansund, Norway 150 Crew 2
2020 Svolvær, Norway/Brønnøysund, Norway 200 0
2019 Ketch Cabo san Lucas, Mexico/French Polynesia 3000 Crew 4
2016 Kalmar, Sweden/Copenhagen, Denmark 140 Crew 2
2016 Bocas del Toro, Panama/Bocas del Toro, Panama 0 Crew 2
2015 Portsmouth, UK/Isle of Wight, UK 20 Crew 2
brought to you by