Simon Small, male, 66

Ref 44290

Nationality: United Kingdom
Currently based in: casares, Spain
Looking for: Worldwide opportunities
Experience: 30000 ocean miles / 100001 coastal miles
Looking for oceon sailing without skippers responsibility and again find the solace, peace and sanctuary of stars, ocean. 65 year old post graduate, divorced father of 2 children, boy just completed masters in Maastricht university in Artificial Intelligence, daughter in third year at Bristol university studying geography. I have sailed most of my life and commercially as delivery, charter and racing skipper, having completed 12 tranatlantic crossings both directions, fastnets, round britain and ireland and many deliveries including complex tidal waters eg to Vannes and back passing via channel islands, channel du four and raz de seine. Now looking for less responsibility and cruising safely and more than happy to be a useful crew member under the skipper owner of yacht and willing to only offer assistance when asked. I have experience in provisioning, routing and weather forecasting, navigation, some old fashioned methods now rarely used, fishing, yacht management maintenance. Easy going, socialable, good calm under pressure, experience in lost steering, dimasting during fastnet race on shingles bank IOW, loss of rudder on my first transatlantic, engine failure due to charterers putting water into fuel tank close to Bermuda and sailed back to St Martin for repairs and many other more minor incidents. Used to work for Sunsail delivering yachts to and from St Martin for repairs and servicing. Trained many for dayskipper and coastal RYA qualifications, ran charter company specialising in banking and legal industries team building as well as female only crew. My experience includes first mate aboard With Integrity formerly Chay Blythes GB11, aboard during 2 transatlantics one during the ARC with paying crew the other returning with limited crew, 5 including skipper and fastnets. Worked on Canada 11, ex Americas Cup yacht in St Martin taking cruise ship passengers for day sails. Skippered 65ft staysail schooner with charterers in BVI's for one season. Ran skippered Bavaria 49 and delivered and returned from Cowes to Granada Caribbeanas on several years as well as summer seasons in UK. Currently skippering an Island Packard 465 currenly being sold. Hoping to recieve a vaccination for covid as soon as possible.
Smoking: non-smoker
Relationship status: single
Dietary requirements: None. Enjoy plenty of vegetables, pulses and beans as well as dairy, fish and meat. Mixed diet. Love cooking and previously a restaurant owner but not a proffesional cook but definitely a good family cook.
Languages: English; French; Spanish; Italian;
Social Links:

Simon’s Sailing Experience

Number of years sailing: 10+
Sea miles sailed: Ocean: 30000 / Coastal: 100001
Nights at sea: 50+
I have experience as: Instructor (Ocean Sailing)
Invite this crew to
Sailing Skills Experienced
I have done this many times and am confident to help others less experienced. I am happy doing this day
I am competent doing this in daylight, or if there is someone more experienced with me
I have only done this a few times, but I am willing to learn
I have not done this before
Steer a compass course x
Keep lookout/watch-keeping x
Trimming sails – mainsail and foresail/jib x
Reefing x
Working the foredeck – setting sails including spinnakers and cruising chutes x
Navigating with GPS and paper charts at sea x
Anchoring and handling anchors x
Cooking at sea x
Using dinghies with outboard motors x
Heaving-to and other heavy weather tactics x

Other nautical or cruising skills

Using a sextant for astro-navigationx
Using VHF radiox
Repairing or making sailsx
Using radarx

Other nautical or relevant qualifications

Qualification Awarding Level Year
brought to you by