ross almquist, male, 65

Ref 31705

Nationality: United States
Currently based in: bridgewater, MA, United States
Looking for: Caribbean;
Experience: 1000 ocean miles / 5000 coastal miles
Hi, I started sailing as a teenager, Sunfish and Hobies. Took a long break after kids arrived and then got back into it sailing on a 43' C&C back in 2000. I still race/sail with the same people every year (now a Jeaneua 41'), I extended the sail season by renting from Moorings and CYOA and doing bareboats in the BVI's, St. Martin, and Belize. I also paid to do some of the Caribbean Regattas with On Deck.(St. Thomas, Tortola, Barbados, St. Barts and Grenada). I've done overnights bringing our boat from Buzzards Bay to Maine. I'd like to hook up this fall with a boat doing the ARC out of Newport. I live less than an hour away and would like to meet and evaluate compatibility (it goes both ways!). Hope to hear from you! Ross
Smoking: non-smoker
Relationship status: partnered
Dietary requirements: None
Languages: English;
Social Links:


ross’s Sailing Experience

Number of years sailing: 10+
Sea miles sailed: Ocean: 1000 / Coastal: 5000
Nights at sea: 1-10
I have experience as: Crew
print
Invite this crew to
Sailing Skills Experienced
I have done this many times and am confident to help others less experienced. I am happy doing this day
Competent
I am competent doing this in daylight, or if there is someone more experienced with me
Basic
I have only done this a few times, but I am willing to learn
None
I have not done this before
Steer a compass course x
Keep lookout/watch-keeping x
Trimming sails – mainsail and foresail/jib x
Reefing x
Working the foredeck – setting sails including spinnakers and cruising chutes x
Navigating with GPS and paper charts at sea x
Anchoring and handling anchors x
Cooking at sea x
Using dinghies with outboard motors x
Heaving-to and other heavy weather tactics x

Other nautical or cruising skills

Using VHF radiox
brought to you by