Matthew Whitley, male, 19

Ref 44032

Nationality: United Kingdom
Currently based in: ALTRINCHAM, United Kingdom
Looking for: Worldwide opportunities
Experience: 0 ocean miles / 100 coastal miles
To anyone looking for crew Aspiring sailor looking to be part of a 2020 TransAtlantic crossing as a crew member, available immediately. I am 19 Years old on my 2nd gap year prior to University in 2021, I have a strong passion for working hard, as well as enjoying travel and all outdoor sports. Being organised and determined, and always up for a challenge, I’ll always undertake tasks with a positive mindset. I am a competent Dinghy sailor with RYA Level 1 + 2 qualifications, and am keen to upscale to ocean-going boats and improve my sailing skills. I have a food and nutrition and Spanish GCSE. I am able to cook a number of simple, healthy meals. As well as understanding small amounts of Spanish Through 12 months of retail experience I’ve been exposed to people from all walks of life and have found my friendly relaxed approach means that I can get on with most people. I also enjoy working with kids, I have done a large amount of babysitting and worked for 2 years in my local children’s church as a children’s leader. As well as this I am a keen mountain biker, runner, hill walker, traveller, snowboarder, rock climber, Kayaker. Skills learnt from the above include, coping in adverse conditions, basic ropework and dealing with mechanical issues when they arise. I love the remoteness and isolation of the wilderness alongside the challenges and excitement it brings In the past year I have organised 3 weeks trekking in the Polish Tatras, wild camping in Slovakia, cycling around parts of Italy, South Africa and the UK, wild camping in the English Lake District winter/summer and interrailing with a group of 7 through Europe. I also spent 11 weeks in the Swiss and French Alps snowboarding last year. More recently I have spent 7 weeks volunteering at a remote welsh outdoor pursuits centre living 24/7 on site with only 7 other volunteers. Hold a full valid driver’s license
Smoking: non-smoker
Relationship status: single
Dietary requirements: None
Languages: English;
Social Links:


Matthew’s Sailing Experience

Number of years sailing: less than 1
Sea miles sailed: Ocean: 0 / Coastal: 100
Nights at sea: 0
I have experience as: New to sailing
print
Invite this crew to
Sailing Skills Experienced
I have done this many times and am confident to help others less experienced. I am happy doing this day
Competent
I am competent doing this in daylight, or if there is someone more experienced with me
Basic
I have only done this a few times, but I am willing to learn
None
I have not done this before
Steer a compass course x
Keep lookout/watch-keeping x
Trimming sails – mainsail and foresail/jib x
Reefing x
Working the foredeck – setting sails including spinnakers and cruising chutes x
Navigating with GPS and paper charts at sea x
Anchoring and handling anchors x
Cooking at sea x
Using dinghies with outboard motors x
Heaving-to and other heavy weather tactics x
brought to you by