Marjolein Vertelman, female, 22

Ref 44470

Nationality: Netherlands
Currently based in: Uithoorn, Netherlands
Looking for: Worldwide opportunities
Experience: 0 ocean miles / 0 coastal miles
Hey there, I am a 22 years old student who wants to take a gap year during the academic year of 2021 and 2022. I would love to sail from Europe to the Carribean in November with the ARC. I have been sailing most of my life but I never sailed at sea before. So before I do an Atlantic crossing, I would like to gain some experience with sailing at sea. I am currently working on my International Certificate of Competence. I already completed the first part and I am currently studying for my exam for the second part. My bachelor's study is in English so I am bilingual. I have some experience in teaching kids how to sail and I am a scuba diver. For the ARC I am looking for a ship with a crew of at least 3 others because that feels safer as a female solo traveler.
Smoking: non-smoker
Relationship status:
Dietary requirements: Vegetarian
Languages: English; French; Dutch
Social Links:


Marjolein’s Sailing Experience

Number of years sailing: less than 1
Sea miles sailed: Ocean: 0 / Coastal: 0
Nights at sea: 0
I have experience as: New to sailing
print
Invite this crew to
Sailing Skills Experienced
I have done this many times and am confident to help others less experienced. I am happy doing this day
Competent
I am competent doing this in daylight, or if there is someone more experienced with me
Basic
I have only done this a few times, but I am willing to learn
None
I have not done this before
Steer a compass course x
Keep lookout/watch-keeping x
Trimming sails – mainsail and foresail/jib x
Reefing x
Working the foredeck – setting sails including spinnakers and cruising chutes x
Navigating with GPS and paper charts at sea x
Anchoring and handling anchors x
Cooking at sea x
Using dinghies with outboard motors x
Heaving-to and other heavy weather tactics x
brought to you by