Katie McKinnon, female, 26

Ref 49128

Nationality: United States
Currently based in: Burlington, United States
Looking for: Worldwide opportunities
Experience: 400 ocean miles / 10000 coastal miles
Hi! My name is Katie McKinnon and I am 24 years old. Currently my boyfriend and I are looking into opportunities to sail the Caribbean this winter. We're looking at buying our own sailboat in the near future. I grew up sailing on small racing boats. Growing up I sailed down the east coast as a crew member on the Amistad tallship. My family has a 24 foot sloop, so I got a lot of experience with that. My boyfriend and I come with so much positivity and energy. We're both very social and friendly. We each enjoy drinking and smoking, though nothing too heavy. We're Both looking for an opportunity to learn as much as we can before we embark on our own journey independently. We'd be so stoked to meet virtually. Looking to get this going ASAP
Smoking: non-smoker
Relationship status: partnered
Dietary requirements: nothing
Languages: English;
Social Links:

Katie’s Sailing Experience

Number of years sailing: 10+
Sea miles sailed: Ocean: 400 / Coastal: 10000
Nights at sea: 11-49
I have experience as: Crew
Invite this crew to
Sailing Skills Experienced
I have done this many times and am confident to help others less experienced. I am happy doing this day
I am competent doing this in daylight, or if there is someone more experienced with me
I have only done this a few times, but I am willing to learn
I have not done this before
Steer a compass course x
Keep lookout/watch-keeping x
Trimming sails – mainsail and foresail/jib x
Reefing x
Working the foredeck – setting sails including spinnakers and cruising chutes x
Navigating with GPS and paper charts at sea x
Anchoring and handling anchors x
Cooking at sea x
Using dinghies with outboard motors x
Heaving-to and other heavy weather tactics x

Other nautical or cruising skills

Using a sextant for astro-navigationx
Using VHF radiox
Using radarx
brought to you by