Kai Brückner, male, 51

Ref 4561

Nationality: Germany
Currently based in: Berlin, Germany
Looking for: Worldwide opportunities
Experience: 2000 ocean miles / 10000 coastal miles
My name is Kai Brückner, I am 51 years old, I live in Berlin with my family and I am a self-employed jazzguitarist. Or rather I have been a self-employed jazz guitarist for the last thirty years until Covid 19 put me into early retirement. (Of course I don’t know this for sure but it doesn’t look very good at all) I have learned sailing dinghies as a kid and then pretty much stopped until 12 years ago when I started again. First by sailing with friends and getting my license for the local inshore waters. Then quickly I developed a love for coastal and offshore sailing. Since then I have become somewhat addicted to being on a boat. I went through the exams to get all the German licenses. I started chartering yachts with the family and friends and was asked to the skipper for friends of friends. In 2014 I bought an Albin Vega 27 and sail it single-handedly most of the time. I speak German and English fluently and French and Spanish. I have sailed about 12000 nautical miles most of them as skipper and many single handed. I have the German Licenses SBF Binnen and See, SSS, SHS LRC STCW Basic Safety I don’t know if I need an RYA Yachtmaster Certificate but would be willing to get one. I have experience sailing in the Baltic, North Sea, English Channel, Scotland with Orkneys and Shetlands, Norway, Bay of Biscay Crossing, Mediterranean and Canary Islands. I have no experience with powerboats except for the occasional river cruise with a family cruiser. I have skippered sailing yachts from 27 ft (obviously) to 46 ft, also cruising catamarans.
Smoking: non-smoker
Relationship status: married
Dietary requirements: I eat pretty much everything
Languages: English; French; German; Spanish;
Social Links:

http://www.kaibrueckner.de


Kai’s Sailing Experience

Number of years sailing: 10+
Sea miles sailed: Ocean: 2000 / Coastal: 10000
Nights at sea: 50+
I have experience as: Captain (Offshore)
print
Invite this crew to
Sailing Skills Experienced
I have done this many times and am confident to help others less experienced. I am happy doing this day
Competent
I am competent doing this in daylight, or if there is someone more experienced with me
Basic
I have only done this a few times, but I am willing to learn
None
I have not done this before
Steer a compass course x
Keep lookout/watch-keeping x
Trimming sails – mainsail and foresail/jib x
Reefing x
Working the foredeck – setting sails including spinnakers and cruising chutes x
Navigating with GPS and paper charts at sea x
Anchoring and handling anchors x
Cooking at sea x
Using dinghies with outboard motors x
Heaving-to and other heavy weather tactics x

Other nautical or cruising skills

Using a sextant for astro-navigationx
Using VHF radiox
Diesel engine maintenancex
Using radarx
brought to you by