Julia Koelln, female, 22

Ref 49431

Nationality: Brazil
Currently based in: Porto Alegre, Brazil
Looking for: Worldwide opportunities
Experience: 95 ocean miles / 500 coastal miles
Hello, my name is Julia and I'm 21 years old. I live in south Brasil and am absolutely passionate about sailing and the ocean. I recently graduated Culinary Arts School and am now looking for opportunities to sail this world. I was born into a family of Sailors and since little I've always dreamed of sailing the word like my mothers family did when she was young. The opportunity to do that with my family never really occurred, so I decided to go after it myself. The little sailing experience that I have come from short sail trips with my parents and grandparents, and from a summer camp called Seatrek BVI, to which I went 3 times. At Seatrek I got ASA 101 certified in 2015. I would describe myself as adventurous, as I don't like the ideia of settling down, am always looking forward to trying new things and searching ways to step outside my comfort zone. I am also very active and absolutely love water sports, like kitesurfing, wakeboarding and scuba diving (NAUI Master and Rescue diver certified) I really know just the basics to sailing, but the willingness to learn and help out anyway I can is not lacking. I'm a very observant and determined, I also work well in teams and like to do things well. It would be a dream come true being able to join you onboard. I am open to do absolutely any activities and chores necessary. I am available from January 2023 on.
Smoking: non-smoker
Relationship status: single
Dietary requirements: No dietary restrictions
Languages: English; German;
Social Links:


Julia’s Sailing Experience

Number of years sailing: less than 1
Sea miles sailed: Ocean: 95 / Coastal: 500
Nights at sea: 0
I have experience as: Crew
print
Invite this crew to
Sailing Skills Experienced
I have done this many times and am confident to help others less experienced. I am happy doing this day
Competent
I am competent doing this in daylight, or if there is someone more experienced with me
Basic
I have only done this a few times, but I am willing to learn
None
I have not done this before
Steer a compass course x
Keep lookout/watch-keeping x
Trimming sails – mainsail and foresail/jib x
Reefing x
Working the foredeck – setting sails including spinnakers and cruising chutes x
Navigating with GPS and paper charts at sea x
Anchoring and handling anchors x
Cooking at sea x
Using dinghies with outboard motors x
Heaving-to and other heavy weather tactics x
brought to you by