Joern Grote, male, 57

Ref 48111

Nationality: Germany
Currently based in: Guester, Germany, Germany
Looking for: Worldwide opportunities
Experience: 75000 ocean miles / 50000 coastal miles
Salty dog, 57 years young without health issues ,left Germany when I was 25 on a 28 footer to live in the Caribbean for 27 years. Always made my living from and off sailboats, owned a yacht repair business in Trinidad, did worldwide deliveries and charters and worked as crew and captain in the superyacht industry. I am able to take a yacht apart and put her back together to go sailing s I do right now with my 40 feet Trimaran to go on my first circumnavigation starting next year. Fluent in German, English and Spanish plus a reasonable good French. I am holding theMCA Yachtmaster Ocean commercially endorsed ticket plus other courses and papers in order for the Officer of Watch. Way over 100000 miles on yachts up to180 feet logged, 14 Atlantic crossings.I sailed on vessels like Athos, Thendara and Signe and Perrini Navies plus ca a 100 deliveries on smaller vessels both mono and multihulls, modern or classic.I raced yachts in all big Caribbean regattas multiple times apart of the Caribbean 600 which I would love to participate in. I am looking for a PAID position for the winter season 21/22 to build up funds for my next journey, ideally take a boat from Europe to the Caribbean ,which I know like the back of my hand,for pleasure of the owner or charter, to sail her back to Europe in 22 ,but I am open to other challenges. My wife , Trinidadian, would be willing to join as hostess and chef, temporally or permanently. Your vessel will be in the hands of a master mariner and boatbuilder with connections all over the Caribbean( incl. Good discounts at one of the biggest chandlery chain in the West Indies) and always thriving to make the boat the owners and my pride and joy. CV and sailing log can be requested on [email protected]
Smoking: non-smoker
Relationship status: married
Dietary requirements: None
Languages: English; French; German; Spanish;
Social Links:


Joern’s Sailing Experience

Number of years sailing: 10+
Sea miles sailed: Ocean: 75000 / Coastal: 50000
Nights at sea: 50+
I have experience as: Captain (Offshore)
print
Invite this crew to
Sailing Skills Experienced
I have done this many times and am confident to help others less experienced. I am happy doing this day
Competent
I am competent doing this in daylight, or if there is someone more experienced with me
Basic
I have only done this a few times, but I am willing to learn
None
I have not done this before
Steer a compass course x
Keep lookout/watch-keeping x
Trimming sails – mainsail and foresail/jib x
Reefing x
Working the foredeck – setting sails including spinnakers and cruising chutes x
Navigating with GPS and paper charts at sea x
Anchoring and handling anchors x
Cooking at sea x
Using dinghies with outboard motors x
Heaving-to and other heavy weather tactics x

Other nautical or cruising skills

Using a sextant for astro-navigationx
Using VHF radiox
Diesel engine maintenancex
Outboard engine maintenancex
Repairing or making sailsx
Using radarx

Other nautical or relevant qualifications

Qualification Awarding Level Year
MCA YACHTMASTER Ocean MCA Yachtmaster Ocean 2004
brought to you by