Ian Griswold, male, 74

Ref 16494

Nationality: United Kingdom
Currently based in: Stockport, United Kingdom
Looking for: Worldwide opportunities
Experience: 17000 ocean miles / 2000 coastal miles
I want to have fun sailing the oceans and enjoy my life with Brenda my partner and with like minded people. We are both very fit and healthy extremely competent sailors and I believe good company also. I come alive when I'm sailing, it makes me smile. I bought a Discovery 55 from Berthon in the UK in 2016 and sailed her across Biscay, around the Med for a few months then across to Las Palmas and then to St Lucia in the Caribbean with the ARC. I spent a season there then sailed back in June, not in a flotilla, via the Azores to Gibraltar and then on to Croatia for a couple of seasons. Then to Corfu, through the Corinth Canal and onwards. Hebe my D55 is currently based in Turkey where I spend 3 months twice yearly on her typically 2 handed sailing with Brenda and occasionally with family or friends. Although Hebe has a complement of downwind sails we have just bought a new North sails, soft luff, top down furling gennaker which is powerful but managed and furled from the cockpit. Great for night time sailing when a rogue squall hits. I have sailed Hebe single handed which is fine but stern to mooring, Med style is awkward to say the least with a centre cockpit. And I do prefer to be with someone to share the magical moments, a sunset, dawn breaking, dolphins, those amazing starry nights with absolutely no light pollution et al. Before buying Hebe I chartered 50ft+ yachts for several years in the Mediterranean and Caribbean and Brenda who has a home in Yarmouth on the Isle of Wight has sailed and raced on the solent for years. I also completed the Fastnet Race in a Volvo 70 four years ago which was a great experience but far less comfortable than a Discovery I have to say. I'm resourceful, and through necessity, have and can fix most things around the boat. Sailing around the world, the Panama Canal and the Galapagos Islands has always been our dream but 15 months or so away circumnavigating doesn't work anymore with 3 very young grandchildren and an ageing Labrador. So 2 or 3 months on Casamara would be fabulous and sailing a D55 is perfect and second nature to us, we are a safe pair of hands but fun too. I have researched Casamara and read some of her blogs, I'd love to talk, I think that we have a similar ethos.
Smoking: non-smoker
Relationship status: partnered
Dietary requirements: We are both competent cooks, even when the boat is rocking and rolling, and eat pretty much anything. We are fortunate that we have never suffered from seasickness to date. Although we had a cooking rota when crossing the Atlantic I probably cooked 75% of the time. I pre prepared and froze some "one pot" casseroles and stews which were great to put in a pressure cooker with a sealed lid when heavy weather hit. My microwave isn't gimballed so is useless on a starboard tack. Like you we have a dry boat when sailing but we love to have a G&T or a glass of wine when the hook hits the seabed.
Languages: English;
Social Links:


Ian’s Sailing Experience

Number of years sailing: 10+
Sea miles sailed: Ocean: 17000 / Coastal: 2000
Nights at sea: 50+
I have experience as: Captain (Offshore)
print
Invite this crew to
Sailing Skills Experienced
I have done this many times and am confident to help others less experienced. I am happy doing this day
Competent
I am competent doing this in daylight, or if there is someone more experienced with me
Basic
I have only done this a few times, but I am willing to learn
None
I have not done this before
Steer a compass course x
Keep lookout/watch-keeping x
Trimming sails – mainsail and foresail/jib x
Reefing x
Working the foredeck – setting sails including spinnakers and cruising chutes x
Navigating with GPS and paper charts at sea x
Anchoring and handling anchors x
Cooking at sea x
Using dinghies with outboard motors x
Heaving-to and other heavy weather tactics x

Other nautical or cruising skills

Using VHF radiox
Diesel engine maintenancex
Outboard engine maintenancex
Repairing or making sailsx
Using radarx

Other nautical or relevant qualifications

Qualification Awarding Level Year
0
brought to you by