Harry Turner, male, 18

Ref 47385

Nationality: United Kingdom
Currently based in: Badminton, United Kingdom
Looking for: Caribbean; Central & North America; Mediterranean & Black Sea; North Indian Ocean & Red Sea; South America; South East Asia & East Asia; South Indian Ocean; South Pacific Islands; Western Europe & North Atlantic Islands;
Experience: 150 ocean miles / 350 coastal miles
(I am the person to the left of the photo) Sailing has always been a passion of mine, I started dinghy sailing at the age of eight and have obtained several dinghy qualifications over the years. However, in more recent years my passion for sailing has reached new levels as I have completed my RYA competent Crew and Day Skipper qualifications. I am looking to grow my experience in sailing and I am willing to do what ever it takes to achieve this. I am a very driven person and have had a job since the age of 11, for example I have worked as a stable hand, a golf course manager, lifeguard and bartender, allowing me to gain an amplitude of different skills. For my age I have a lot of nautical miles, most of these miles were made up from day sailing and the largest journeys I have completed I have put on my profile page. I am looking for exciting, alternative work and will be available until November which is the point that I am undergoing snowboard instructors training for a ski season. Outside of my vocational activities, I am currently on a gap year before I am to pursue a degree in architecture. I have played Rugby since the age of 4 allowing me to gain great team and leadership skills but I am also interested in a wide variety of outdoor activities such as cricket, football, horse riding and climbing to name a thew. Overall, I would say that I'm an easy going person who doesn't mind completing any task put in front of me. I am always up for a social with a couple of drinks but I could quite easily stay in all night reading or talking. I hope that this information will help you make the right decision when choosing your crew members.
Smoking: non-smoker
Relationship status: single
Dietary requirements: I am happy with most meals other than fish - the irony.
Languages: English;
Social Links:


Harry’s Sailing Experience

Number of years sailing: 4 to 9
Sea miles sailed: Ocean: 150 / Coastal: 350
Nights at sea: 1-10
I have experience as: Crew
print
Invite this crew to
Sailing Skills Experienced
I have done this many times and am confident to help others less experienced. I am happy doing this day
Competent
I am competent doing this in daylight, or if there is someone more experienced with me
Basic
I have only done this a few times, but I am willing to learn
None
I have not done this before
Steer a compass course x
Keep lookout/watch-keeping x
Trimming sails – mainsail and foresail/jib x
Reefing x
Working the foredeck – setting sails including spinnakers and cruising chutes x
Navigating with GPS and paper charts at sea x
Anchoring and handling anchors x
Cooking at sea x
Using dinghies with outboard motors x
Heaving-to and other heavy weather tactics x

Other nautical or relevant qualifications

Qualification Awarding Level Year
Day Skipper RYA Day Skipper 2021
Competent crew RYA Competent Crew 2020
Dinghy Sailing RYA 2, 3, 4 and Seamanship 2016
Dinghy Sailing RYA 1 2010

Voyage History

Date Boat From/To Miles Role # Crew Rally
2021 Bavaria 37 Falmouth /Fowe 50 Crew 6
2020 Motor Boat 40ft Lagos /Portama 70 Crew 7
2020 Bavaria 37 Falmouth /Fowe 50 Crew 4
2018 Bavaria 30 Vancouver island /(day trip around island) 40 Crew 5
2016 Bavaria 35 Poole /Lulworth 60 Crew 4
2016 Bavaria 35 Poole /Isle of Wight 50 Crew 4
brought to you by