Gary Ferguson, male, 66

Ref 52380

Nationality: United States
Currently based in: Oakland, Maine, United States
Looking for: Central & North America;
Experience: 0 ocean miles / 100 coastal miles
Age 65y. Recently retired from dental practice as a prosthodontist. Before that 25 year career I was a commissioned officer in the United States Coast Guard. I have two and a half years experience as the student engineer/asst EO on a coast guard medium endurance cutter. During that time, I qualified as in-port and underway deck watch/conning officer and in-port and underway engineering watch officer. The ship had approximately 8 officers and 70 crew. The balance of my Coast Guard career includes one year in the headquarters office in Washington, DC and two and a half years as a vessel inspector at the marine inspection office in Philadelphia,PA. I am married 35+ years with 3 grown children.
Smoking: non-smoker
Relationship status: married
Dietary requirements:
Languages: English;
Social Links:

Gary’s Sailing Experience

Number of years sailing: less than 1
Sea miles sailed: Ocean: 0 / Coastal: 100
Nights at sea: 0
I have experience as: New to sailing
Invite this crew to
Sailing Skills Experienced
I have done this many times and am confident to help others less experienced. I am happy doing this day
I am competent doing this in daylight, or if there is someone more experienced with me
I have only done this a few times, but I am willing to learn
I have not done this before
Steer a compass course x
Keep lookout/watch-keeping x
Trimming sails – mainsail and foresail/jib x
Reefing x
Working the foredeck – setting sails including spinnakers and cruising chutes x
Navigating with GPS and paper charts at sea x
Anchoring and handling anchors x
Cooking at sea x
Using dinghies with outboard motors x
Heaving-to and other heavy weather tactics x

Other nautical or cruising skills

Using a sextant for astro-navigationx
Using VHF radiox
Diesel engine maintenancex
Outboard engine maintenancex
Using radarx
brought to you by