Gabrielle Roy, female, 40

Ref 50844

Nationality: Canada
Currently based in: Montreal, Canada
Looking for: Worldwide opportunities
Experience: 400 ocean miles / 100 coastal miles
Hello dear sailing community! I am a French-Canadian woman who took some precious time off to travel around Europe during summer 2022. I have a calling for the ocean and the marine life protection since years. Throughout my travels, I went 4 days sailing south of France for the first time and also did a 5 days crossing from Madeira to the Canary Islands (with a friendly English couple) plus 5 days at anchor in Las Palmas prepping the boat for the ARC. I learnt some basics, got myself useful with what was asked and got a feeling of the life on a boat. I can provide good references. We also wrote an article in December 2022 in the Ocean Cruising Club Magazine called "Would you take a hitch hiker?" Now, the truth is...I fell in love with sea life and I am now seeking for more experiences. I will be in Europe around May 25th, 2023 until June 10th or so. Would love to sail close to Portugal, Italy or Greek Islands... but not limited to those destinations. I am flexible. I am fully aware that security on board comes first and that good communication skills are required to spend 24|7 with the crew members. I am a person who adapts to different environments and people quite easily. I keep my stuff neat and tidy. Travelling alone and being a newbie in the sailing community, I feel more comfortable to travel with either couples, families and/or women. I can help with some basics of sailing, small maintenance, as well as cleaning and cooking. And, I am willing to learn more about sailing. I would like to sail few hours a day and not be at anchor all the time, if this is possible. Or at least have a balance between on shore and at sea. If you are looking for someone to sail with early June, do not hesitate to contact me. I’d be happy to chat. Looking forward to hearing from you. Gabrielle
Smoking: non-smoker
Relationship status: not-say
Dietary requirements:
Languages: English; French;
Social Links:

Gabrielle’s Sailing Experience

Number of years sailing: less than 1
Sea miles sailed: Ocean: 400 / Coastal: 100
Nights at sea: 1-10
I have experience as: New to sailing
Invite this crew to
Sailing Skills Experienced
I have done this many times and am confident to help others less experienced. I am happy doing this day
I am competent doing this in daylight, or if there is someone more experienced with me
I have only done this a few times, but I am willing to learn
I have not done this before
Steer a compass course x
Keep lookout/watch-keeping x
Trimming sails – mainsail and foresail/jib x
Reefing x
Working the foredeck – setting sails including spinnakers and cruising chutes x
Navigating with GPS and paper charts at sea x
Anchoring and handling anchors x
Cooking at sea x
Using dinghies with outboard motors x
Heaving-to and other heavy weather tactics x

Other nautical or relevant qualifications

Qualification Awarding Level Year

Voyage History

Date Boat From/To Miles Role # Crew Rally
2022 hyeres/port-cros and portquerolles 100 Student 2
2022 Wauquiez Pilot Saloon 48 Funchal, Madeira/Las Palmas, Gran Canaria 400 Student 3
brought to you by