Frank Schaefer, male, 53

Ref 52620

Nationality: United States
Currently based in: , Italy
Looking for: Worldwide opportunities
Experience: 500 ocean miles / 500 coastal miles
52 year old guy from Austin, TX. Starting a sabbatical. After family in Italy, I'll be looking for a sailboat. I've taken ASA 101-106 and worked on commercial fishing boats throughout college. I'm very handy mechanically. OK with electrical issues. Always keep an eye out for issues. Don't take up much space. Quick to jump in wherever needed. Best, Frank
Smoking: non-smoker
Relationship status: single
Dietary requirements: None
Languages: English; Spanish;
Social Links:

Frank’s Sailing Experience

Number of years sailing: 1 to 3
Sea miles sailed: Ocean: 500 / Coastal: 500
Nights at sea: 1-10
I have experience as: Crew
Invite this crew to
Sailing Skills Experienced
I have done this many times and am confident to help others less experienced. I am happy doing this day
I am competent doing this in daylight, or if there is someone more experienced with me
I have only done this a few times, but I am willing to learn
I have not done this before
Steer a compass course x
Keep lookout/watch-keeping x
Trimming sails – mainsail and foresail/jib x
Reefing x
Working the foredeck – setting sails including spinnakers and cruising chutes x
Navigating with GPS and paper charts at sea x
Anchoring and handling anchors x
Cooking at sea x
Using dinghies with outboard motors x
Heaving-to and other heavy weather tactics x

Other nautical or cruising skills

Using VHF radiox
Diesel engine maintenancex
Outboard engine maintenancex

Voyage History

Date Boat From/To Miles Role # Crew Rally
2019 Monohull Bellingham, WA/Princess Louisa Inlet 500 Student 6
brought to you by