Ellen (Pam) McArthur, female, 62

Ref 49207

Nationality: United States
Currently based in: Red Bank, NJ, United States
Looking for: Caribbean; South America;
Experience: 0 ocean miles / 0 coastal miles
Hi! I am retired officer (US Army), still healthy and active. I am a recovering attorney. I learn quickly, am a hard worker and a team player. I've dreamed of sailing, but never had the opportunity. I am a strong ocean swimmer. I was looking to start the January 2023 rally up to the Galapagos. The only reason I am making this limit is because I have never done ocean sailing and I don't want to over-commit and leave anybody in a lurch. I enjoy cooking and I am a good cook (in my opinion and that of my family). I sailed as a kid - really liked it and was good at it.
Smoking: non-smoker
Relationship status: single
Dietary requirements: I am allergic to eggs and cigarette smoke. I eat primarily vegetarian, occasional meat eater (no philosophical issue here, I just feel weighed down when I eat meat). I prefer my caffeine from Coke Zero. :0) I am a very light drinker.
Languages: English;
Social Links:


Ellen (Pam)’s Sailing Experience

Number of years sailing: less than 1
Sea miles sailed: Ocean: 0 / Coastal: 0
Nights at sea: 0
I have experience as: New to sailing
print
Invite this crew to
Sailing Skills Experienced
I have done this many times and am confident to help others less experienced. I am happy doing this day
Competent
I am competent doing this in daylight, or if there is someone more experienced with me
Basic
I have only done this a few times, but I am willing to learn
None
I have not done this before
Steer a compass course x
Keep lookout/watch-keeping x
Trimming sails – mainsail and foresail/jib x
Reefing x
Working the foredeck – setting sails including spinnakers and cruising chutes x
Navigating with GPS and paper charts at sea x
Anchoring and handling anchors x
Cooking at sea x
Using dinghies with outboard motors x
Heaving-to and other heavy weather tactics x
brought to you by