Dustin Raatz, male, 30

Ref 31360

Nationality: United States
Currently based in: Gillett, United States
Looking for: Worldwide opportunities
Experience: 4500 ocean miles / 500 coastal miles
To Whom This May Concern, Our names are Dusty and Erin and we are nomads at heart and love traveling this world by boat-- preferably sailboat. She is a Naturalist Interpreter for National Parks/Forests/conservancies (ie, Park Ranger), and I am a charter captain; I earned my OUPV license here in the States earlier this winter/spring (operator of an uninspected passenger vessel), otherwise known as the "6-pack" or "charter license," officially earning my captain's license for near coastal waters (up to 100 miles offshore with a max of 6 paying passengers). I will be wrapping up my maiden season as a charter captain this October, as I am currently running my friend's new sailboat-- a Cheoy Lee Clipper 33 (a beautiful cutter ketch)-- for his new charter business in the Apostle Islands National Lakeshore along Lake Superior. Erin is currently a sea kayak guide taking people out on week long campouts throughout the island chain. I am from northern WI originally. My wife Erin is from FL/PA originally. OUR GOAL: is to have a POSITIVE experience on a sailboat with a kind, patient captain/owner/crew who is willing to teach and encourage-- not mislead and discourage, as we have endeavored a sufferable 5000+ mile trip last year helping deliver a boat through the Panama Canal (twice actually) to what would have been Vietnam via the World ARC; we crossed the Pacific and sailed as far as Tahiti before Covid repatriated us last year early April. Covid was actually, for us and our circumstance, a blessing in disguise, as it got my wife and I off a toxic and insidious boat with cruel men. It is quite the tale of woe and adventure we don't mind sharing now. Anyways... While Erin likes to remind me that I am predominantly the sailor between the two of us (she was operating crew after all for 1000+ coastal miles and 4300+ ocean miles with me), she is not far from earning all her sea time in order for her to obtain her captain's license, which is something she'd like to pursue as our long term goal is to own a vessel in order to offer adventure therapy type programs out of it, as my wife Erin studied that as well. Sailing is something we both understand is a lifelong discipline, and we're looking for the right people willing to teach and instruct and pass on the art of good seamanship, so we can continue to become confident and competent on the big water. Some quick pertinent side notes... If youth are on board, we have primarily worked with youth in youth development organizations for most of our outdoor educational career and feel comfortable around kids of all ages. She and I love to cook and managed the entire 8 month food plan for the South Pacific trip, which was quite the undertaking, and feel confident in assisting with that if need be. We are both musically inclined (we both sing and I play the guitar); we are both more introverted than extroverted; we drink responsibly and cater more towards wine than the harder stuff; we do not smoke and have a clean backgrounds. And above all, I know we haven't met yet and I know we haven't even gotten to the interview process, but just know that with every word that we choose to describe ourselves, that is exactly what you're going to get. Some of the more pertinent are: patient, trustworthy, loyal, dependable, helpful, considerate, kind, courteous, clean, methodical and honest. To bad those are rare qualities these days... If you're curious what our "personality types" are, I am an ISFJ (Introversion, Sensing, Feeling, Judgment) and Erin is an INTJ (Introvert, Intuition, Thinking, Judgment). Thank you for taking the time to read this. The best way to contact me is via email. Thanks and God bless, Dusty Oh, we're also very creative people (specializing in photography, short filmmaking, writing/blogging, etc). I personally write screenplays and stageplays-- a vocation for now, hopefully a career... as well... someday.
Smoking: non-smoker
Relationship status: married
Dietary requirements: None. We are "hospitalitarian," meaning we eat what we're given (for the most part).
Languages: English;
Social Links:


Dustin’s Sailing Experience

Number of years sailing: 4 to 9
Sea miles sailed: Ocean: 4500 / Coastal: 500
Nights at sea: 11-49
I have experience as: Coastal Skipper
print
Invite this crew to
Sailing Skills Experienced
I have done this many times and am confident to help others less experienced. I am happy doing this day
Competent
I am competent doing this in daylight, or if there is someone more experienced with me
Basic
I have only done this a few times, but I am willing to learn
None
I have not done this before
Steer a compass course x
Keep lookout/watch-keeping x
Trimming sails – mainsail and foresail/jib x
Reefing x
Working the foredeck – setting sails including spinnakers and cruising chutes x
Navigating with GPS and paper charts at sea x
Anchoring and handling anchors x
Cooking at sea x
Using dinghies with outboard motors x
Heaving-to and other heavy weather tactics x

Other nautical or cruising skills

Using VHF radiox
Using radarx
brought to you by