Dan Wood, male, 69

Ref 46456

Nationality: United States
Currently based in: , United States
Looking for: Caribbean; Central & North America; Mediterranean & Black Sea; South America;
Experience: 1500 ocean miles / 4000 coastal miles
I am originally from Connecticut, but have been in San Diego for over 40 years. I grew up sailing on a lake and Long Island Sound. I have owned and sailed my own boats in San Diego, 30 to 41 feet, since 1982 and am received my Captain's license in August, 2021. I have been in yacht sales for the past 7 years and started my own brokerage 6 years ago. Prior to that, I was a venture capitalist, starting biotech and med tech companies. I began my career as a stockbroker and have owned and sold a registered investment advisory firm where I was a CFP and CFA. I am a graduate of Tufts University in International Relations and have an MBA in Finance from UCONN. I speak some French, German and Spanish. Having spent most of my career in the investment field and with an extensive travel background, I would like to begin investing in stocks of frontier markets countries I visit sailing such as Panama, Peru, Equador, Jamaica, Morocco, Tunisia, Malta, Cyprus, Lebanon, Montenegro, Croatia, Slovenia, Bulgaria, Romania and Georgia. I plan on doing some yacht sales in the countries I plan on visiting in Central and South America, the Caribbean and Mediterranean and Black Seas. I plan on selling the Gemini after the Panama Posse and getting a bigger one for the Med and Black Sea. I will need a crew member with at least some good coastal cruising experience for any or all of these trips. Single females from 45 to 55 are preferred. I am a very fit 6'1", 183 lbs. I am a life long snow skiier (lived in Austria for 5 months where I was a ski instructor), basketball player, tennis player and golfer and have played jazz standards and classic rock piano/keyboards semi-professionally. I quite drinking completely 12 years ago, and don't do any drugs of any sort. I don't mind if people drink in moderation around me. The photo of me is very recent.
Smoking: non-smoker
Relationship status: single
Dietary requirements: None.
Languages: English; French; German; Spanish; Only fluent in English
Social Links:

Dan’s Sailing Experience

Number of years sailing: 10+
Sea miles sailed: Ocean: 1500 / Coastal: 4000
Nights at sea: 50+
I have experience as: Coastal Skipper
Invite this crew to
Sailing Skills Experienced
I have done this many times and am confident to help others less experienced. I am happy doing this day
I am competent doing this in daylight, or if there is someone more experienced with me
I have only done this a few times, but I am willing to learn
I have not done this before
Steer a compass course x
Keep lookout/watch-keeping x
Trimming sails – mainsail and foresail/jib x
Reefing x
Working the foredeck – setting sails including spinnakers and cruising chutes x
Navigating with GPS and paper charts at sea x
Anchoring and handling anchors x
Cooking at sea x
Using dinghies with outboard motors x
Heaving-to and other heavy weather tactics x

Other nautical or cruising skills

Using VHF radiox
Diesel engine maintenancex
Outboard engine maintenancex
Repairing or making sailsx
Using radarx

Voyage History

Date Boat From/To Miles Role # Crew Rally
2023 Gemini 105 Cartagena Columbia/Marathon FL 1400 Captain 0
2023 Gemini 105MC Marathon FL/Nassau Bahamas 200 Captain 2 No
2021 Gemini 105 Cabo San Lucas/Cartagena Columbia 2600 Captain 1 Panama Posse
2021 Gemini 105 San Diego/Cabo San Lucas 1000 Captain 2 Baja HaHa
2016 Bayliner 24 Stuart Florida/Marco Island Florida 500 Captain 1 No
January 0 / 0 0
January 0 / 0 0
brought to you by