Christopher Lawrence, male, 70

Ref 7467

Nationality: United States
Currently based in: New York 10003, United States
Looking for: Worldwide opportunities
Experience: 14000 ocean miles / 7500 coastal miles
I cruise and race on a variety of boats from 24 to 54 feet and competed in 11 offshore races. I also race and cruise J-80s, J -105s and Hobie Cats. I've skippered mono hulls and catamarans in the Caribbean, Greece, Croatia, Spain, France and the Northeastern United States. Trans Atlantic passage i(Arc Europe) from Tortola/Bermuda/Azores/Portugal. Just completed Newport Bermuda Race and delivered the boat back. January-April 2018 Charleston South Carolina to the Galapagos with World ARC on Morris 48. 4500 NM. I own an adventure travel company and take people sailing all over the world. ( Instagram onsight_adventures ) I’m neat and organized, but laid back. Other sports that I do include rock climbing, motorcycle racing, skydiving, scuba diving and paragliding. My happy place is cruising on our Grande Soleil 50. Most of all I have a passion for the sea, and love to be with people who share the same!………………………………………………………... Christopher crewed on our boat for our trans-Atlantic passage from St Thomas to Portugal in May/June 2015. We did not know him well before the passage, but he proved to be a very valuable part of our crew. In addition to proving his excellent sail trim and helming skills, Christopher always had a positive attitude, was on time for every watch (day and night), and was proactive in cooking and cleaning. When we had a couple of “situations” on board, Christopher was always willing and able to do whatever was necessary to help out. We appreciated the fact that he is as safety conscious as we are and he followed our ship’s rules regarding PFD/tether use during heavy weather. Besides all of the above, Christopher is an interesting, engaging, enjoyable personality. Not only do we hope to have him as crew on our boat in the future, we now consider him a friend and we hope that he will come cruise with us in the Med sometime soon. Lisa Powell s/v TARA
Smoking: non-smoker
Relationship status: single
Dietary requirements: I eat everything!
Languages: English; French;
Social Links:

Christopher’s Sailing Experience

Number of years sailing: 10+
Sea miles sailed: Ocean: 14000 / Coastal: 7500
Nights at sea: 50+
I have experience as: Crew
Invite this crew to
Sailing Skills Experienced
I have done this many times and am confident to help others less experienced. I am happy doing this day
I am competent doing this in daylight, or if there is someone more experienced with me
I have only done this a few times, but I am willing to learn
I have not done this before
Steer a compass course x
Keep lookout/watch-keeping x
Trimming sails – mainsail and foresail/jib x
Reefing x
Working the foredeck – setting sails including spinnakers and cruising chutes x
Navigating with GPS and paper charts at sea x
Anchoring and handling anchors x
Cooking at sea x
Using dinghies with outboard motors x
Heaving-to and other heavy weather tactics x

Other nautical or cruising skills

Using VHF radiox
Using radarx

Other nautical or relevant qualifications

Qualification Awarding Level Year
First Aid & CPR Red Cross 2019
Performance Sailing Instructor US Sailing Instructor 2018
Master Captains Liscense USCG Master 2017
Basic Keelboat Instructor US Sailing Instructor 2017
Open Water Diver PADI 1987
Safety at Sea 0

Voyage History

Date Boat From/To Miles Role # Crew Rally
January 0 / 0 0
January 0 / 0 0
January 0 / 0 0
brought to you by