Carl Hoel, male, 34

Ref 49395

Nationality: United States
Currently based in: Las Vegas, United States
Looking for: Worldwide opportunities
Experience: 0 ocean miles / 0 coastal miles
I am an enthusiastic sailor looking to build miles and experience offshore and coastal cruising. I am a hard worker and quick learner who is easy going and quick to join in and help with any task. I have experience skippering small keelboats, dinghys and Hobie cats through a couple sailing clubs I've been a member of and a handful of days crewing on a friend's 32 foot Beneteau. I don't have any experience cruising or passagemaking, but I do have experience traveling and living in a small space. In 2019 I bought a Ford Transit van and converted it myself to live and work out of. I designed the layout, systems for electrical, plumbing, cooking, and refrigeration and completed all the building myself. I was in it full time with my partner for over a year and now we split our time between AirBnbs and the van. Other life experiences relevant to sailing are: I have my private pilot certificate from which I am experienced with reading charts, VHF operations, weather, route planning and using checklists. I am a rock climber and familiar with rope systems and knots. I am a PADI open water diver but am more interested in freediving and spearfishing. I love traveling and being on the move, seeing new things. In addition to my van travels all across the western US, I lived in Germany for 6 months and have traveled in the Caribbean, Central America, Asia and New Zealand. I am a laid back, go-with-the-flow type of person. When problems come up I don’t get worked up, I start thinking through solutions. I have always had a can-do problem solving mindset and enjoyed learning, building and fixing things which led me to my career as an engineer. I have a bachelors in mechanical engineering and a masters in systems engineering and work developing fly-by-wire flight control software. I am eager to learn everything I can while onboard, be a valuable member of the crew and meet some interesting people. My goal is to have my own boat in the coming years and build up to a circumnavigation. In my free time I enjoy active and relaxing pursuits. Rock climbing, mountain biking, backpacking as well as reading, podcasts, and music.
Smoking: non-smoker
Relationship status: partnered
Dietary requirements: None
Languages: English;
Social Links:


Carl’s Sailing Experience

Number of years sailing: less than 1
Sea miles sailed: Ocean: 0 / Coastal: 0
Nights at sea: 0
I have experience as: Crew
print
Invite this crew to
Sailing Skills Experienced
I have done this many times and am confident to help others less experienced. I am happy doing this day
Competent
I am competent doing this in daylight, or if there is someone more experienced with me
Basic
I have only done this a few times, but I am willing to learn
None
I have not done this before
Steer a compass course x
Keep lookout/watch-keeping x
Trimming sails – mainsail and foresail/jib x
Reefing x
Working the foredeck – setting sails including spinnakers and cruising chutes x
Navigating with GPS and paper charts at sea x
Anchoring and handling anchors x
Cooking at sea x
Using dinghies with outboard motors x
Heaving-to and other heavy weather tactics x

Other nautical or cruising skills

Using VHF radiox
Outboard engine maintenancex
brought to you by