Frank Grande, male, 66

Ref 29729

Nationality: United States
Currently based in: Waterville, United States
Looking for: Caribbean; Central & North America; Mediterranean & Black Sea; Western Europe & North Atlantic Islands;
Experience: 4000 ocean miles / 6000 coastal miles
Sailing since I was 11 years old, US Navy veteran, current USCG 100 ton Masters License. Will retire in May, 2021 and will sail full time. I have been planning to sail from Boothbay, Maine to New York's Hudson River up to Newburgh, and then continue south and return to the Florida Keys. People say I am spontaneous, outgoing, talkative, lover of the ocean. I ran a sailing charter business, Goddess of the Sea Cruises, in Maine and also Florida, for 14 years, currently taking a break. Will possibly start up again in 2022. The boat in the pictures is a Vagabond 42' ketch which I have owned since 2005. In the Navy, I have traveled throughout the US, Europe and Middle East. I am a lover of books, current events and fine cuisine, some of which I cook! I hope to relocate to Florida in the very near future. I am looking for a first mate, long term relationship with a female sailor, or as short term crew for sailing. Sailing Experience: Ran a sailing charter business for 14 years. Started sailing at age 11. Sailed from Ct. to Bermuda and the BVI's, Maine to Florida and back twice, boat deliveries along the Atlantic seaboard and BVI's and the coast of Maine since 1990. 6 years in the US Navy took me to Spain, Italy, France, Egypt, Israel, Norway, Denmark, Jamaica, Puerto Rico, etc.
Smoking: non-smoker
Relationship status: single
Dietary requirements: I try to eat healthy, with low or no sugar. I love fresh seafood, salads, and the occaisonal steak. No food allergy or restrictions
Languages: English;
Social Links:

http://www.goddesscruise.com


Frank’s Sailing Experience

Number of years sailing: 10+
Sea miles sailed: Ocean: 4000 / Coastal: 6000
Nights at sea: 50+
I have experience as: Coastal Skipper
print
Invite this crew to
Sailing Skills Experienced
I have done this many times and am confident to help others less experienced. I am happy doing this day
Competent
I am competent doing this in daylight, or if there is someone more experienced with me
Basic
I have only done this a few times, but I am willing to learn
None
I have not done this before
Steer a compass course x
Keep lookout/watch-keeping x
Trimming sails – mainsail and foresail/jib x
Reefing x
Working the foredeck – setting sails including spinnakers and cruising chutes x
Navigating with GPS and paper charts at sea x
Anchoring and handling anchors x
Cooking at sea x
Using dinghies with outboard motors x
Heaving-to and other heavy weather tactics x

Other nautical or cruising skills

Using VHF radiox
Diesel engine maintenancex
Outboard engine maintenancex
Using radarx

Voyage History

Date Boat From/To Miles Role # Crew Rally
1996 sloop Greenwich, CT/Tortola, BVI 1500 Crew 3
brought to you by