Brian Mercado, male, 69

Ref 47001

Nationality: South Africa
Currently based in: Johannesburg , South Africa
Looking for: Worldwide opportunities
Experience: 0 ocean miles / 0 coastal miles
My wife and I both in our 60’s, would like to do the ARC circumnavigation in 2023 -24, with our two grandchildren who are teenagers. We are qualified divers, I have a skippers ticket for ski boats, or fishing within 5 miles of the coast. We would need a skipper and a stew / chef, as we are not y qualified enough to go it alone. We are non smokers, eat most kinds of food but err on the side of vegetarian, enjoy a glass of wine, and have lived our lives without compromise. We think we are fun to be with.
Smoking: non-smoker
Relationship status: married
Dietary requirements: We prefer vegetarian but meat is never a problem, it’s just easier to leave it out. Fish is great. We would like to find a chef who could introduce us to new food ideas.
Languages: English;
Social Links:


Brian’s Sailing Experience

Number of years sailing: less than 1
Sea miles sailed: Ocean: 0 / Coastal: 0
Nights at sea: 0
I have experience as: New to sailing
print
Invite this crew to
Sailing Skills Experienced
I have done this many times and am confident to help others less experienced. I am happy doing this day
Competent
I am competent doing this in daylight, or if there is someone more experienced with me
Basic
I have only done this a few times, but I am willing to learn
None
I have not done this before
Steer a compass course x
Keep lookout/watch-keeping x
Trimming sails – mainsail and foresail/jib x
Reefing x
Working the foredeck – setting sails including spinnakers and cruising chutes x
Navigating with GPS and paper charts at sea x
Anchoring and handling anchors x
Cooking at sea x
Using dinghies with outboard motors x
Heaving-to and other heavy weather tactics x
brought to you by