Asbjørn Ried, male, 31

Ref 48842

Nationality: Denmark
Currently based in: Copenhagen, Denmark
Looking for: Worldwide opportunities
Experience: 0 ocean miles / 3000 coastal miles
My name is Asbjørn Bjerregaard Ried. I'm a 30-year-old Dane currently living in Copenhagen. I'm from a sailing family and have a sailing background in dinghies. I purchased my own boat - a International Folkebåd 27' in the summer of 2018 and have since then captained it for over 2500 nm around Limfjorden, Skagerak, Kattekat, Øresund, Baltic Sea. I'm a competition sailor currently on a Luffe 39' where I have the position of bowman. I'm looking to cross the Atlantic in 2022 – preferable in the ARC. I've taking more than 10 months off my current job to travel around the world. The travels are part adventure and part work. I work the UNESCO Associated Schools project, where I'm a pedagogical consultant. On my journey I’ll visit schools in SA, CA and NA and conduct research and put in groundwork for future partnerships with Danish schools – everything based around sustainability and UNs 17 development goals for a sustainable future. I have no experience in ocean sailing but I’m quick and eager to learn. I’m a humble people’s person who loves the experience of meeting new people and exploring the opportunities such meeting presents. I’m good at being in and handling tough situations – both following directions and doing what needs to be done. I’m an outdoors person who can find solitude on the water. I’m a social person with an eye for keeping everyone participating and in a good mood. I love cooking and have done a fair bit of finish – but I’m not an expert. I have the financially means to cover any shared expenses and getting myself to and from any location. I furthermore have time this summer (late June to august) to come and meet a crew/caption and help sail a/the boat if it’s needed. Kind regards Asbjørn Bjerregaard Ried
Smoking: non-smoker
Relationship status:
Dietary requirements:
Languages: English;
Social Links:


Asbjørn’s Sailing Experience

Number of years sailing: 10+
Sea miles sailed: Ocean: 0 / Coastal: 3000
Nights at sea: 1-10
I have experience as: Coastal Skipper
print
Invite this crew to
Sailing Skills Experienced
I have done this many times and am confident to help others less experienced. I am happy doing this day
Competent
I am competent doing this in daylight, or if there is someone more experienced with me
Basic
I have only done this a few times, but I am willing to learn
None
I have not done this before
Steer a compass course x
Keep lookout/watch-keeping x
Trimming sails – mainsail and foresail/jib x
Reefing x
Working the foredeck – setting sails including spinnakers and cruising chutes x
Navigating with GPS and paper charts at sea x
Anchoring and handling anchors x
Cooking at sea x
Using dinghies with outboard motors x
Heaving-to and other heavy weather tactics x
brought to you by