Andy Harris, male, 62

Ref 48775

Nationality: United Kingdom
Currently based in: Great Alne, Alcester, United Kingdom
Looking for: Western Europe & North Atlantic Islands;
Experience: 90 ocean miles / 10 coastal miles
I am in full time employment and keep fit by walking my dog and the occasional running half marathons. My sailing experience is limited to holidays in the Caribbean as a passenger and the occasional race around Antigua. Sailing the Atlantic is on my bucket list. Recently I completed an Open University course in Philosophy, so I can bore other crew members for 3 weeks all about Plato and Sophocles. My wife and daughter would prefer me to stay on dry land but I'm sure they will enjoy meeting up in St Lucia.
Smoking: non-smoker
Relationship status: married
Dietary requirements: None.
Languages: English;
Social Links:


Andy’s Sailing Experience

Number of years sailing: less than 1
Sea miles sailed: Ocean: 90 / Coastal: 10
Nights at sea: 11-49
I have experience as: Crew
print
Invite this crew to
Sailing Skills Experienced
I have done this many times and am confident to help others less experienced. I am happy doing this day
Competent
I am competent doing this in daylight, or if there is someone more experienced with me
Basic
I have only done this a few times, but I am willing to learn
None
I have not done this before
Steer a compass course x
Keep lookout/watch-keeping x
Trimming sails – mainsail and foresail/jib x
Reefing x
Working the foredeck – setting sails including spinnakers and cruising chutes x
Navigating with GPS and paper charts at sea x
Anchoring and handling anchors x
Cooking at sea x
Using dinghies with outboard motors x
Heaving-to and other heavy weather tactics x
brought to you by