Justin Grimwood, male, 47

Ref 23916

Nationality: United States
Currently based in: Bayfield, United States
Looking for: Caribbean; Central & North America;
Experience: 900 ocean miles / 1200 coastal miles
My name is Justin Grimwood, I am looking to gain sea miles and experience as my wife and I plan to purchase a sailboat this fall 2021. My Boating experience is as follows. Owned a 23 foot Four-wins day boat for 13 years, and multiple smaller fishing boats over the years. ASA Bareboat Charter school 101 through 104 in 2007 on a 41 foot Island Packet in the USVI and BVI Annapolis MD to Gwynn Virginia on 42 ft cutter 2009 Charleston South Carolina to Ft Lauderdale Florida on 33 ft Hans Christian Georgetown Bahamas to Bocas Del Toro Panama with a stop in Jamaica on a 37ft Prout. I pulled the fuel tank on this one in Jamaica and cleaned them. I also added an additional filter to the fuel system and did some electric work. The autopilot gave out 1 day out of Jamaica (burnt up the hydraulic pump) and we hand steered to Bocas Del Toro. Charleston South Carolina to BVI on a 40 foot Beneteau 2018 USVI to Hampton Virginia on 46 foot Fontain Pajo. We experienced gusts to 67 knots out of the North West off of Cape Hatteras and sat out there waiting for it to blow past so we could get in. I am financially stable and not looking for a paycheck, although who would pass one up. I am willing to pay my own travel expenses but would not turn down a little help. I would like to find a sailboat with a captain who is sane, sober, and experienced, who I get along well with and stick by their side for multiple trips to build miles and experience. I have not been seasick yet. I am neat, clean, and am a good cook. My hobbies are camping, river rafting, fly fishing, skiing, hiking, scuba diving, snorkeling, sailing, photography, cooking, meditation, and much more. I am low-key and like to chill out, I rarely get stressed and very rarely lose my cool. I have no interest in traveling with a stressed, or temperamental captain or crew if that happens to be you please pass me up. I used to hold an EMT certificate. I am a really good welder of heavy iron. I received my Heavy Equipment Diesel Mechanic certificate out of High School and worked as a mechanic for several years before joining the US Army where I was a mechanic. I am a half-ass electrician and can fix most things. I am currently a Realtor and I own multiple rental properties that I have rehabbed and self manage. I have immediate availability and an open schedule. If you are open to considering me I would like to schedule a virtual interview for both of us at your convenience. I thank you for considering my request to join your team. Sincerely; Justin Grimwood
Smoking: non-smoker
Relationship status: married
Dietary requirements: None
Languages: English;
Social Links:

Justin’s Sailing Experience

Number of years sailing: 1 to 3
Sea miles sailed: Ocean: 900 / Coastal: 1200
Nights at sea: 11-49
I have experience as: Crew
Invite this crew to
Sailing Skills Experienced
I have done this many times and am confident to help others less experienced. I am happy doing this day
I am competent doing this in daylight, or if there is someone more experienced with me
I have only done this a few times, but I am willing to learn
I have not done this before
Steer a compass course x
Keep lookout/watch-keeping x
Trimming sails – mainsail and foresail/jib x
Reefing x
Working the foredeck – setting sails including spinnakers and cruising chutes x
Navigating with GPS and paper charts at sea x
Anchoring and handling anchors x
Cooking at sea x
Using dinghies with outboard motors x
Heaving-to and other heavy weather tactics x

Other nautical or cruising skills

Diesel engine maintenancex
Outboard engine maintenancex
brought to you by