Wade Foster, male, 54

Ref 48162

Nationality: United States
Currently based in: Rockport, United States
Looking for: Worldwide opportunities
Experience: 1000 ocean miles / 10000 coastal miles
Hello everyone, I'm new here, so bare with me. My port of call is a small, beautiful port on the Texas Gulf Coast, just about 160 miles from the Southern most Texas/Mexican border, for those unfamiliar with my area. I have spent the majority of my life here. I have been all over the US and Mexico and lived in other states along the Gulf coast, and the Florida Keys. My primary experience is motor yachts and bay boats. Experience from 50' to 18'. My experience has been mainly in Texas, Mississippi, Fort Meyers, Pensacola, and the Florida Keys, along with many local lakes. We love to fish, on and offshore, and scuba dive. My wife is USAF MSGT, retired, and currently works as a defense contractor remotely from home. I am a retired graphics designer and owner operator of a full service sign company for over 35 years. I have to many hobbies to list, so lets just say I like to have fun. My wife and I have recently decided to leave the world of Motor Yachts, and try a new adventure. We have always wanted to sail, and have been planning this for years. We sold our Hatteras a few years back, and plan to keep our inshore bayboat. After a couple years researching, learning, planning and shopping, the time has finally come to purchase our sailboat. We have found the boat we want and it serves our purpose, taste, and budget. It also crosses over from power boat to sailing with a comfortable transition. While she is a tried and true sailing ketch, in beautiful condition, she is a sail cruiser. Meaning she can be motored anywhere on her twin diesel Yanmars. She is a good size 54' with a near 16' beam with full accommodations, and all the creature comforts. She is able to handle all bluewater and has a full suite of Furuno Electronics. She is also, ICW, Bamaha and Carribean friendly, with her 55' main, and 5.5 draft. She has three Staterooms two full heads with separate showers, full galley, living, entertainment, and dining area. With other amenities such as water maker, ice maker, washing machine and drier. She has everything to live aboard, which we intend to do part time as we do our crossings. She is not Austintacious, but comfortable clean and lived in. She is in excellent shape and beautiful, however she spent 10 years as a live aboard traveling the world with a very experienced captain and boatyard owner. She has been well cared for constantly maintained and updated. Our plan is to finish the deal on her by the end of this month and start the voyage home with the new vessel. While she is in excellent condition I want her perfect. I intend to sail her back to Texas, put her on the hard and do a full refit, and freshen up for her journeys ahead. We intend to leave Rockport not this season, as per the refit, but the following and spend our first year in Mexico, Belize, South America, Virgian Islands and Bahamas, maybe more. This brings me to the Crew site. My wife will be unable to make the voyage back from ST Augustine FL to Rockport TX at the end of the month or early October (flexible). I can do it myself, however, she is a lot of boat to handle for one person. She is setup for single handed, however, some help and company for the trip would be nice. I have a plan, an itinerary, just no confirmed dates yet. However that part is flexible. The trip, at 6 knotts average and 12 hour days should take 21 days give or take. Unfortunately, while ICW friendly, she is 4 ft to tall for the Okeechobee, River. Yes, I know, they can do the water barrel trick. I am not comfortable with that on a Ketch this size. I am also aware that I can un-step and re-step the main. Thats a logistical nightmare to schedule while en-route. That leaves a not so glamorous yet fun passage around Florida to the Keys, Marathon Bridge across to ST Pete and then back to the ICW. She is very seaworthy, and I carry full insurance for the boat, that includes the crew. As mentioned trip should take 21 days give or take. Keeping six knotts, or 50 miles a day, on 12 hour shift is reasonable remember, she is very capable of motoring the entire trip and has the fuel holding for it. She cruises at eight knotts motor or sail. However, I will leave that to the crew member. I am not in a hurry, if you want to run straight through, thats fine, if you want to stop and see the sights, thats fine too. Here is what I can do. I will pay all expenses and transportation round trip in the US or Mexico, unless you plan to stay in Texas when we arrive at destination, I will pay all provisioning, all expenses within reason. If we are delayed anywhere, I will pay hotel expense as well. In addition, I will pay for you to help me on this trip within reason. All you have to do is catch a flight, be on time, help me sail the boat, and have fun. I am easy going, like conversation and having fun. Happily married for 20 years, so for any women interested in the experience, I am not looking to date. You are safe, and I'm not a psychopath, just a family man with a sense of adventure. I am not a drill sergeant, am open for advise and suggestion. I do not care what you do as long as you do not put myself or boat in any jeopardy. I do not do drama! Leave politics at home. That is my only three requests. Other than that I am super easy to get along with. I have an open mind and good sense of humor. This trip should be an adventure, and most of all fun. I am a survivor, and have done many crazy adventures, this is just another. I am safe, but not rigid, will ensure the boat has all necessary safety equipment and first aid all up to date. These are things I am extremely careful about. Again, we want this to be a memorable adventure for the right reasons not the wrong. Drinking is your choice, just not while or before we are underway, I need you alert. Beyond that, I will join you. We can hit the port towns along the way for dinner and drinks, I know some great places. I prefer to travel daytime only anyway, unless we have no choice. So, bring your smile, a great attitude, a sense of adventure and your skills with willingness to share the work, and I will furnish the rest. Please send me a note if interested. I will likely reach out to some of you that look up for the task, as this is somewhat time sensitive. Thanks again, Wade
Smoking: smoker
Relationship status: married
Dietary requirements:
Languages:
Social Links:


Wade’s Sailing Experience

Number of years sailing: 10+
Sea miles sailed: Ocean: 1000 / Coastal: 10000
Nights at sea: 11-49
I have experience as: Instructor (Ocean Sailing)
print
Invite this crew to
Sailing Skills Experienced
I have done this many times and am confident to help others less experienced. I am happy doing this day
Competent
I am competent doing this in daylight, or if there is someone more experienced with me
Basic
I have only done this a few times, but I am willing to learn
None
I have not done this before
Steer a compass course x
Keep lookout/watch-keeping x
Trimming sails – mainsail and foresail/jib x
Reefing x
Working the foredeck – setting sails including spinnakers and cruising chutes x
Navigating with GPS and paper charts at sea x
Anchoring and handling anchors x
Cooking at sea x
Using dinghies with outboard motors x
Heaving-to and other heavy weather tactics x

Other nautical or cruising skills

Using VHF radiox
Diesel engine maintenancex
Outboard engine maintenancex
Using radarx
brought to you by