Victor Matei, male, 28

Ref 37400

Nationality: France
Currently based in: Las Palmas de Gran Canaria, Spain
Looking for: Caribbean; Central & North America; South America;
Experience: 300 ocean miles / 800 coastal miles
Hello :) My name is Victor I am 27 years old. I was running a software company in Paris and did quit my job to travel few months ago. I promised my sister I would join her in Colombia for Christmas by the sea. I have learned to sail in Bretagne, spending weeks learning the basics on a 5.7m not habitable ship, then I spent one week in the Paimpol bay (north of Bretagne) on a Delher 32 feet in last september. After that I joined a boat to cross from Malaga to Canarias. The boat was Bel-ami, a 28 ft Aquila (Jeanneau) with his captain and another crew. The crossing has been awesome, with great wind, good cultural breaks on the moroccan coast and a great life onboard (we managed to cook tajines and bread pudding!). The captain will stay in the Canarias for winter and can give more details by phone if necessary. I love to sail and the feeling to be neighbor with the stars and the sun. I want to continue to learn about it and maybe one day get my own boat. I am keen to help for maintenance, I am used to live onboard and live on the sea now, and I am an easy to live people. I like to cook of course, as a frenchman :D and I lived in the US and Brasil for some time and speak fluently french, english and portuguese. I would like to discover more the racing aspect of sailing and be part of a competition, that gives a more peppered taste to sailing I guess. Thank you for reading and hope you’ll have a good wind!
Smoking: non-smoker
Relationship status: single
Dietary requirements: None
Languages: English; French; Spanish; Portuguese
Social Links:


Victor’s Sailing Experience

Number of years sailing: less than 1
Sea miles sailed: Ocean: 300 / Coastal: 800
Nights at sea: 11-49
I have experience as: Crew
print
Invite this crew to
Sailing Skills Experienced
I have done this many times and am confident to help others less experienced. I am happy doing this day
Competent
I am competent doing this in daylight, or if there is someone more experienced with me
Basic
I have only done this a few times, but I am willing to learn
None
I have not done this before
Steer a compass course x
Keep lookout/watch-keeping x
Trimming sails – mainsail and foresail/jib x
Reefing x
Working the foredeck – setting sails including spinnakers and cruising chutes x
Navigating with GPS and paper charts at sea x
Anchoring and handling anchors x
Cooking at sea x
Using dinghies with outboard motors x
Heaving-to and other heavy weather tactics x

Other nautical or cruising skills

Using VHF radiox
Diesel engine maintenancex
Repairing or making sailsx

Voyage History

Date Boat From/To Miles Role # Crew Rally
2019 Jeanneau Aquila 28 feet Malaga/Lanzarote 900 Crew 3
2019 Delher 32 Saint Malo/Perros-Guirec 100 Crew 6
brought to you by