Tom Ruetgers, male, 28

Ref 48404

Nationality: Germany
Currently based in: Copenhagen, Denmark
Looking for: Worldwide opportunities
Experience: 700 ocean miles / 2000 coastal miles
Hi sailors, I am 28 yo, speaking English, German and limited Danish. I am easy-going, open-minded, clean, tidy and by growing up with several siblings, living in 6 different cities in shared flats and doing team sport for most time in my life, I would describe myself also as a team player:-) I have worked as a sailing instructor, holding the German sailing certificate which is equivalent to the coastal RYA and SRC radio certificates. The past 3 years I am sailing matchraces on DS-37 / J-70 on a weekly basis in Denmark, trained on all positions. I also have cruising experience as a skipper on longer passages on fast sailboats (X-372, First 44.1, Pogo36) . Though, I haven't crossed any ocean yet, but I would really like to cross the Atlantic this year. In addition, I am also open for any Regattas, fleet races, matchraces around Europe as well as cruising opportunities. My background is mechanical engineering and I am capable to assist on all repair and maintenance duties on the boat. In addition, I am working in the offshore wind industries and completed advanced trainings for first aids and sea survival. Moreover, I have no tendency getting sea sick, don't mind to sail in heavy wind and can also bring my own equipment (life vest, plb, gear). So, if you are looking for crew, please send me a pm or give me a call! Contact details: Phone DK: +45 99 55 71 33 Phone DE: +49 176 36 41 30 30 (whatsapp) Facebook: Cheerio, Tom
Smoking: non-smoker
Relationship status: single
Dietary requirements: none
Languages: English; German;
Social Links:

Tom’s Sailing Experience

Number of years sailing: less than 1
Sea miles sailed: Ocean: 700 / Coastal: 2000
Nights at sea: 11-49
I have experience as: Coastal Skipper
Invite this crew to
Sailing Skills Experienced
I have done this many times and am confident to help others less experienced. I am happy doing this day
I am competent doing this in daylight, or if there is someone more experienced with me
I have only done this a few times, but I am willing to learn
I have not done this before
Steer a compass course x
Keep lookout/watch-keeping x
Trimming sails – mainsail and foresail/jib x
Reefing x
Working the foredeck – setting sails including spinnakers and cruising chutes x
Navigating with GPS and paper charts at sea x
Anchoring and handling anchors x
Cooking at sea x
Using dinghies with outboard motors x
Heaving-to and other heavy weather tactics x

Other nautical or cruising skills

Using VHF radiox
Diesel engine maintenancex
Outboard engine maintenancex
Repairing or making sailsx
Using radarx
brought to you by