Tom Ruetgers, male, 27

Ref 47944

Nationality: Denmark
Currently based in: København SV, Denmark
Looking for: Worldwide opportunities
Experience: 700 ocean miles / 2000 coastal miles
Hi sailors, I am 27 yo, speaking English, German and limited Danish. I am easy-going, open-minded, clean + tidy and by growing up with several siblings, living in 6 different cities in shared flats and doing team sport for most time in my life, I would describe myself also as a team player:-) I have worked as a sailing instructor, holding the German sailing certificate which is equivalent to the coastal RYA + distress signals and LRC radio certificates. The past 3 years I am sailing matchraces on DS-37 / J-70 on a weekly basis in Denmark, trained on all positions. I also have cruising experience on longer passages on older X-Yachts and classic charter boats. Though, I haven't crossed any ocean yet, but I would really like to cross the Atlantic (preferably as part of a race crew on the ARC) this year. In addition, I am also open for other Regattas, fleet races, matchraces around Europe as well as cruising opportunities. My background is mechanical engineering and I am capable to assist on all repair and maintenance duties on the boat. In addition, I am working in the offshore wind industries and completed advanced trainings for first aids and sea survival. Moreover, I have no tendency getting sea sick, don't mind to sail in heavy wind and can also bring my own equipment (life vest, plb, gear). So, if you are looking for crew on the ARC or any other regatta and need crew, please send me a pm or give me a call! Cheerio, Tom
Smoking: non-smoker
Relationship status: single
Dietary requirements: none
Languages: English; German;
Social Links:


Tom’s Sailing Experience

Number of years sailing: 4 to 9
Sea miles sailed: Ocean: 700 / Coastal: 2000
Nights at sea: 1-10
I have experience as: Coastal Skipper
print
Invite this crew to
Sailing Skills Experienced
I have done this many times and am confident to help others less experienced. I am happy doing this day
Competent
I am competent doing this in daylight, or if there is someone more experienced with me
Basic
I have only done this a few times, but I am willing to learn
None
I have not done this before
Steer a compass course x
Keep lookout/watch-keeping x
Trimming sails – mainsail and foresail/jib x
Reefing x
Working the foredeck – setting sails including spinnakers and cruising chutes x
Navigating with GPS and paper charts at sea x
Anchoring and handling anchors x
Cooking at sea x
Using dinghies with outboard motors x
Heaving-to and other heavy weather tactics x

Other nautical or cruising skills

Using VHF radiox
Diesel engine maintenancex
Outboard engine maintenancex
Repairing or making sailsx
Using radarx
brought to you by