Tom Lynch, male, 59

Ref 48799

Nationality: United States
Currently based in: New York, United States
Looking for: Caribbean; Central & North America;
Experience: 3000 ocean miles / 2000 coastal miles
Lifelong sailor, starting at age 7 on the Gulf of Mexico. Learned on Sunfish, Laser, Flying Scott, Hobie. In teens started cruising on one design boats on triangle courses and shorter cross-Gulf races. Olson, Santana, Santa Cruz, and cruising in the family's Chrysler 26. As an adult I have raced abd cruised in the Gulf of Mexico, Pacific, Atlantic, Caribbean, Sea of Cortez and on many lakes. The main racing boats I have crewed on include Melges 24, J 22, 24, 105 and 110's, TP52, Cal 40, Catalina 42, J125, Beneteau. Major ocean races include TransPac, Newport to Ensenada, San Diego to Ensenada, SoCal300, California Offshore Race Week. I crewed regularly on a Melges 24 which made it to the US Championship 2x. I also lived aboard a Catalina 42 which I sailed single handed from LA to Catalina (26 miles one way) and other Channel Islands more than 40 times over a three and a half year period. I sail around Long Island Sound and Block Island for pleasure and racing these days and I miss the open ocean. After crossing the Gulf of Mexico and sailing from LA to Hawaii, I want to cross the Atlantic. The ARC Raly is ideal, combining my racers' skills and quick thinking, with my cruisers' mindset (not too intense), and love of open ocean crossing. I'm excellent on wheel and in the pit. I'm not quite as quick on foredeck as I was a few years ago, but have gained in experience more than anything lost in fleetness of feet. My navigation is solid, cooking completely acceptable. I am respectful, easy to get along with, and can be very comfortable chatting or spending hours in silence. My job allows me plenty of flex time and an ability to pay my own way including some extra time provisioning, prepping the boat, prqctice, etc.
Smoking: non-smoker
Relationship status: married
Dietary requirements: I have bad cholesterol so try to manage my fat intake, but that falls to me to manage my portions, so there is no real impact on the crew.
Languages: English;
Social Links:


Tom’s Sailing Experience

Number of years sailing: 10+
Sea miles sailed: Ocean: 3000 / Coastal: 2000
Nights at sea: 50+
I have experience as: Crew
print
Invite this crew to
Sailing Skills Experienced
I have done this many times and am confident to help others less experienced. I am happy doing this day
Competent
I am competent doing this in daylight, or if there is someone more experienced with me
Basic
I have only done this a few times, but I am willing to learn
None
I have not done this before
Steer a compass course x
Keep lookout/watch-keeping x
Trimming sails – mainsail and foresail/jib x
Reefing x
Working the foredeck – setting sails including spinnakers and cruising chutes x
Navigating with GPS and paper charts at sea x
Anchoring and handling anchors x
Cooking at sea x
Using dinghies with outboard motors x
Heaving-to and other heavy weather tactics x
brought to you by