Todd Cantelon, male, 47

Ref 48242

Nationality: Canada
Currently based in: Guelph, Canada
Looking for: Worldwide opportunities
Experience: 50 ocean miles / 500 coastal miles
I am a lifelong sailor (on the Med as a boy, some Pacific as an Adult but mostly Great Lakes) having been taught to sail by my grandfather when I was four years old. Having decided to make a mid-career course correction I have exited 25 years in media and non-profit work as an Executive to transition to full-time ship's captaining. Currently pursuing my Yachtmaster status. Plan to enter a 3-year Master Mariner course Fall 2022. Looking to build miles and resume. Highly stable, married 25 years, four kids (21/19/17/15) deep and abiding passion for boats and the sea. Currently sailing our C&C 29 on Lake Ontario. Comfortable in the galley.
Smoking: non-smoker
Relationship status: married
Dietary requirements:
Languages: English; French; Hebrew
Social Links:


Todd’s Sailing Experience

Number of years sailing: 10+
Sea miles sailed: Ocean: 50 / Coastal: 500
Nights at sea: 1-10
I have experience as: Coastal Skipper
print
Invite this crew to
Sailing Skills Experienced
I have done this many times and am confident to help others less experienced. I am happy doing this day
Competent
I am competent doing this in daylight, or if there is someone more experienced with me
Basic
I have only done this a few times, but I am willing to learn
None
I have not done this before
Steer a compass course x
Keep lookout/watch-keeping x
Trimming sails – mainsail and foresail/jib x
Reefing x
Working the foredeck – setting sails including spinnakers and cruising chutes x
Navigating with GPS and paper charts at sea x
Anchoring and handling anchors x
Cooking at sea x
Using dinghies with outboard motors x
Heaving-to and other heavy weather tactics x

Other nautical or cruising skills

Using VHF radiox
Outboard engine maintenancex
Repairing or making sailsx
brought to you by