Thomas Schram, male, 25

Ref 48831

Nationality: Netherlands
Currently based in: Amsterdam, Netherlands
Looking for: Worldwide opportunities
Experience: 750 ocean miles / 750 coastal miles
Life as it unfolds; Marco Dekker - Born 24 June 1971, Amsterdam, The Netherlands - High school VWO (A levels) 1989 - Prep program university Tel Aviv, Israel 1989-1990 - Met Ilona 30 Apr 1995/Married 10 Oct 1999 - Daughters Zamaya born 7 Feb 2003, Anaïza born 27 Feb 2005 - Lived as a housefather on a houseboat in Amsterdam for 17y with 3 women, 2 cats, rabbits, mice, gerbils and 50 fishes in 1000 liter aquarium. - Lived/traveled with the girls (homeschooling etc) for almost 2yrs total (daughters lived for minimal 3,5 months; 2x Bali/Indonesia, USA/Mex, Thailand, Australia, Costa rica) - CWO zz level II; Dutch certificate level II sea sailing ‘comparable’ to RYA offshore skipper - Vaarbewijs level I+II; Intl Certificate of Competence inland waters - Enkhuizer Nautical college level KZV; (Tall ship class <500t) - STCW certificate; Basic safety & Survival and First Aid & Medical Care - Diesel Engine RYA course - Understanding of meteorology, navigation, engines (basics), instruments; level comm. & private pilot - First Aid certificate/CPR - Studied Medical theory Nurse level II - Studied Business Economics - Studied Naturopathy; plant medicine, body-mind speciality - Studied Flight Academy - Understanding Dutch (10/10), English (9/10), German (8/10), Spanish (6/10), French (4/10), Hebrew (5/10) - Worked as assistant controller and ass. accountant. Later as a financial administrator for various financial organizations, in health care and with Doctors without borders/ Médecins sans Frontières - Volunteer Hospice caretaker - Volunteer Hospice cook - Volunteer Artis Zoo guide; knowledge about plant & wildlife and natural environment - Special interest in world religions, inner traditions and meta physics - Initiator consciousness research VU and UvA Universities Amsterdam - Certified Yoga teacher - Authorized meditation guide/teacher - 20yrs /40+ silence retreats and darkness/solo/group retreats. - Created The Still Point Movement; integrated Yoga, Running & meditation into a system of physical and mental training in acc. with traditional principles - Diving certificate (Padi advance level) - Private Pilot license -fixed wings; not current - Traveled in all climates and seasons - Traveled all continents excl. Antarctica. - Mountaineering/alpine hiking- basic level- Mont Blanc, Cotopaxi, Kilimanjaro, Mt. Everest basecamp, Vilarica, - Parachute license -Level 1; not current - Driving license - Motorcycle license - Triathlete; level half & full iron man - Beginners level; free style diving, parapente, kite surfing, wall climbing -Countries visited: Germany, Belgium, France, Monaco, Italy, Greece, Turkey, Spain, Portugal, Norway incl Svalbard, Sweden, Denmark, Finland, Iceland, England, Ireland, Scotland, Switzerland, Austria, Hungary , Slovenia, Czechia, Poland, Belarus, Russia, Mongolia, China, Tibet, India, Nepal, Vietnam, Laos, Thailand, Cambodia (visa run), Malaysia, Singapore, Indonesia, Australia, Canada, USA incl ‘Alaska’, Mexico, Guatemala, Honduras, Nicaragua, Costa Rica, Panama, Colombia, Equador, Peru, Bolivia, Chile, Argentina incl. Tiera del Fuego, Brazil, Uruguay, Israel, Egypt, Ethiopia, Kenia, Tanzania, Uganda, South Africa. -Coolest animals wild/special; Beluga, Orca, diff dolphins/porpoises, Billabong, Manta ray, Leather back turtle (egg laying), tropical coral fish. Sloths, White shark (cage dive), Tigers, African big 5, panda, polar/grizzly/black/brown bear, quetzal, hyrax bird, pink dolphin, piranhas, pinguins, walrus, sea elephants/lion/etc, asian tapir, striped hyena, anaconda, Fer-de-Lance, Black cobra, coral snake, koala, almost all whales incl. blue vin whale, feeding/breaching humpbacks, musk ox, polar fox, rein deer, moose, condor, kangaroos, Komodo dragon, orang utang, gorilla, chimpansee, gibbons, most croc species, poison dart frogs, Tukan, Tasmanian devil, possums, Red ara, Narnia trogon.
Smoking: non-smoker
Relationship status: married
Dietary requirements: None
Languages: English; German; Spanish;
Social Links:


Thomas’s Sailing Experience

Number of years sailing: 10+
Sea miles sailed: Ocean: 750 / Coastal: 750
Nights at sea: 1-10
I have experience as: Coastal Skipper
print
Invite this crew to
Sailing Skills Experienced
I have done this many times and am confident to help others less experienced. I am happy doing this day
Competent
I am competent doing this in daylight, or if there is someone more experienced with me
Basic
I have only done this a few times, but I am willing to learn
None
I have not done this before
Steer a compass course x
Keep lookout/watch-keeping x
Trimming sails – mainsail and foresail/jib x
Reefing x
Working the foredeck – setting sails including spinnakers and cruising chutes x
Navigating with GPS and paper charts at sea x
Anchoring and handling anchors x
Cooking at sea x
Using dinghies with outboard motors x
Heaving-to and other heavy weather tactics x
brought to you by