Rebecca Hallie Wheeler, female, 43

Ref 47706

Nationality: United Kingdom
Currently based in: Las Palmas de Gran Canaria, Spain
Looking for: West Africa & South Atlantic Islands; Western Europe & North Atlantic Islands;
Experience: 0 ocean miles / 1832 coastal miles
What I could bring to the crew: • I live in Las Palmas and will be on site to help you when you arrive here, and with preparations. I speak reasonable Spanish and can help with logistics. We have a large 7 seater car with seats that fold down, and can carry most anything. I am happy to lend to the cause of prepping the boat in the weeks before the race. We also have a big washer and dryer the crew could use and a guest room if you want to have people come and stay in Las Palmas in the lead up to the event. • I have lived on several different boats (both sail boats and canal boats) for over 8 years, and am very comfortable living aboard. • I have day RYA day skipper qualifications and am currently in the process of completing my RYA Coastal Skipper course. I have sailed with my husband on our own boat from London to the Isles of Scilly and back, sailed in the Caribbean, have done multiple flotillas in Greece, several RYA courses in the Solent, and have sailed in the Canary Islands. • I have a strong stomach and am capable of cooking and galley work while underway. • I am happy pitching in on anything that needs doing on a boat. I have reasonable knowledge from my time living aboard, and am keen to learn as much as I can • I am happy to cover my own costs for transport, etc, and share in the cost of the journey – I am also happy to cover the costs to fly out for a test sail to make sure we all get along • I am fully vaccinated against covid and most other things, am a non-smoker, non-drinker, and can fully participate in night watches. • I have first aid qualifications and even did an emergency boat medical course several years ago. • I have no major chronic illnesses, am not prone to seasickness and am appendix free! • I am generally upbeat, easy going, and can get along with all types of people • I am also a fully qualified mother of two girls, so can help with kid wrangling if and when necessary. Why I want to do the Arc: • My husband and I are planning to buy a boat and set sail ourselves in the next couple of years with our two girls (currently 5 and 8), and I would love to get the experience of an ocean crossing before we set off as a family. For the avoidance of doubt - on this journey the girls would be staying at home with their father (who is keen for me to get more sailing experience) but would form a heck of a send-off crew in Las Palmas. • I was planning to do the ARC in 2013 with some friends of ours, but became pregnant with our first daughter. My husband proceeded to go on the ARC with our friends, while I was shoreside support crew sourcing extra parts that broke on passage etc. My (then 6 month old) daughter and I flew out to meet the crew for a 10 day sail in the Caribbean upon completion. Having watched my husband and our friends go through the journey, and being there to greet them, I have seen firsthand what a wonderful experience the ARC can be. • For the first time in my adult life, I am not working full time, and have been trying to take advantage of the free time to achieve some lifelong goals. I have helped my husband set up our own business, have been taking intensive Spanish Classes, brushing up on my sailing skills, and even doing some home schooling with my kids (in English alongside their full-time Spanish Schooling). About me: I am originally American and moved to the UK in 2008 for work. There I met my husband and ended up staying for 10 years, living, working, and finally naturalising in the UK. In 2018 we moved to the Canary Islands in search of better weather, nice beaches, sailing opportunities and a slower pace of life. I like running, swimming, sailing and spending time with friends and family.
Smoking: non-smoker
Relationship status: married
Dietary requirements: None.
Languages: English; Spanish;
Social Links:


Rebecca Hallie’s Sailing Experience

Number of years sailing: 4 to 9
Sea miles sailed: Ocean: 0 / Coastal: 1832
Nights at sea: 1-10
I have experience as: Watch Leader
print
Invite this crew to
Sailing Skills Experienced
I have done this many times and am confident to help others less experienced. I am happy doing this day
Competent
I am competent doing this in daylight, or if there is someone more experienced with me
Basic
I have only done this a few times, but I am willing to learn
None
I have not done this before
Steer a compass course x
Keep lookout/watch-keeping x
Trimming sails – mainsail and foresail/jib x
Reefing x
Working the foredeck – setting sails including spinnakers and cruising chutes x
Navigating with GPS and paper charts at sea x
Anchoring and handling anchors x
Cooking at sea x
Using dinghies with outboard motors x
Heaving-to and other heavy weather tactics x

Other nautical or cruising skills

Using VHF radiox

Voyage History

Date Boat From/To Miles Role # Crew Rally
2020 NIMAL Sun Odysey 42 Tenerife Galletas/La Gomera 50 Crew 4
2017 Beneteau 361 Ionian Flotila Greece/Ionian Flotila Greece 50 Watch-leader 4
2016 Beneteau 525 Greek Flotila/Greek Flotila 50 Watch-leader 5
2013 Hylas 46 St Lucia/Grenada 150 Crew 4
2012 Jaguar 27 Greek Flotilla/Greek Flotilla 90 Watch-leader 2
2012 Bavaria 38 Solent Sail training/Solent Sail training 65 Student 6
2011 Rival 38 Weymouth/St Katherines Dock, London 228 Crew 4
2011 Rival 38 Southampton/Weymouth 504 Watch-leader 2
2011 Rival 38 London/Southampton 323 Watch-leader 2
2010 Jeanneau 40 Solent/Solent 70 Student 6
2009 Jaguar 27 Greek Flotilla/Greek Flotilla 109 Crew 2
2009 Contessa 32 Gosport/Cows 40 Crew 5 Race
brought to you by