Philip Galvin, male, 52

Ref 47636

Nationality: Ireland
Currently based in: Tramore , Ireland
Looking for: Worldwide opportunities
Experience: 0 ocean miles / 3000 coastal miles
I’m relatively new to sailing. I have crewed on various trips in the med, such as voyages around Crete, Sicily and UK to Ireland. I have my own 27’ boat based in Waterford which I use as a weekender. I have chartered as a captain in the Cyclades. It’s now time yo look at some ocean crossings. I’m semi retired business executive. My background is in international engineering projets. I’m well traveled and have lived the fly in fly out life for many years. So, I’m well used to the challenges of confined living and the mix of various cultures and personality’s. I’m keen to learn from experienced captains.
Smoking: non-smoker
Relationship status: married
Dietary requirements:
Languages: English;
Social Links:


Philip’s Sailing Experience

Number of years sailing: 1 to 3
Sea miles sailed: Ocean: 0 / Coastal: 3000
Nights at sea: 1-10
I have experience as: Crew
print
Invite this crew to
Sailing Skills Experienced
I have done this many times and am confident to help others less experienced. I am happy doing this day
Competent
I am competent doing this in daylight, or if there is someone more experienced with me
Basic
I have only done this a few times, but I am willing to learn
None
I have not done this before
Steer a compass course x
Keep lookout/watch-keeping x
Trimming sails – mainsail and foresail/jib x
Reefing x
Working the foredeck – setting sails including spinnakers and cruising chutes x
Navigating with GPS and paper charts at sea x
Anchoring and handling anchors x
Cooking at sea x
Using dinghies with outboard motors x
Heaving-to and other heavy weather tactics x

Other nautical or cruising skills

Using VHF radiox
Diesel engine maintenancex

Other nautical or relevant qualifications

Qualification Awarding Level Year
First Aid RYA 2021
Dayskipper RYA 2020
VHF RYA 2019
0
brought to you by