Philippe Giffard, male, 66

Ref 16986

Nationality: United States
Currently based in: Stamford, United States
Looking for: Caribbean; Mediterranean & Black Sea; Western Europe & North Atlantic Islands;
Experience: 10000 ocean miles / 10000 coastal miles
I have sailed mostly in Brittany, France one of the area in the world with very strong currents Started sailing age 15 420 , 470 .505 Hobie Cat 16 Dart 18 Prindle... Amoung the first to start windsurfing in France I crossed the gulf of biscaye as skipper age 22 on a 30' monhull ( Lorient - la Coruna Spain) , sailed several years in the B.V.I as skipper on 35' monohull and the last 3 years , 47' Catamatan ( Leopard 47) Sailed in Spain, England , Race Cowes Dinard several years. I have a HC 18 US and French passeport Looking for ARC transatlantic as a crew member cost sharing unpaid position
Smoking: non-smoker
Relationship status: married
Dietary requirements: none I like also cooking !
Languages: English; French;
Social Links:


Philippe’s Sailing Experience

Number of years sailing: 10+
Sea miles sailed: Ocean: 10000 / Coastal: 10000
Nights at sea: 50+
I have experience as: Crew
print
Invite this crew to
Sailing Skills Experienced
I have done this many times and am confident to help others less experienced. I am happy doing this day
Competent
I am competent doing this in daylight, or if there is someone more experienced with me
Basic
I have only done this a few times, but I am willing to learn
None
I have not done this before
Steer a compass course x
Keep lookout/watch-keeping x
Trimming sails – mainsail and foresail/jib x
Reefing x
Working the foredeck – setting sails including spinnakers and cruising chutes x
Navigating with GPS and paper charts at sea x
Anchoring and handling anchors x
Cooking at sea x
Using dinghies with outboard motors x
Heaving-to and other heavy weather tactics x

Other nautical or cruising skills

Using VHF radiox
brought to you by