Paul Gruber, male, 30

Ref 44778

Nationality: United States
Currently based in: Tres Piedras, NM, United States
Looking for: Worldwide opportunities
Experience: 0 ocean miles / 0 coastal miles
I am an adventurer at heart with salt water in my veins currently landlocked in New Mexico building earth based homes. My last major adventure was a 2,400 mile, source to sea, solo paddle of the Mississippi River in 2017. At the end of that trip I knew I wanted to spend my life on the water. Life happens and with a few delightful diversions over the past few years am ready to begin my ocean journeying. I have lots of experience on boats of all sizes and no experience sailing. However as my life has taught me, I am a very quick learner when I set my mind to something. I am a hard worker, do so enthusiastically and receive feedback well. I get along with most people I meet and have been in leadership positions throughout my life. When I'm not working, I love to read books on adventure, fantasy and the mind. I also picked up cooking in my late teens while living in Italy and have enjoyed cooking ever since. While in New Mexico I have picked up birding as a casual hobby and enjoy being a bird nerd, identifying different birds by their habits, plumage and calls. I have also spent a lot of time recently hiking and taking multi night back packing trips. I have worked many different jobs, many of which I had no experience when I started and quickly learned along the way. I find novelty exciting and love new challanges. I grew up seeing the world but have spent the majority of my last decade in the States and look forward to getting back on the water and encountering new places and meeting new people.
Smoking: non-smoker
Relationship status: partnered
Dietary requirements: No restrictions, however, I do like to keep it generally "healthy" fresh fruits and veg whenever available and limited ingredients that are scientific and hard to pronounce.
Languages: English; My Spanish is serviceable but not quite conversational yet.
Social Links:


Paul’s Sailing Experience

Number of years sailing: less than 1
Sea miles sailed: Ocean: 0 / Coastal: 0
Nights at sea: 0
I have experience as: New to sailing
print
Invite this crew to
Sailing Skills Experienced
I have done this many times and am confident to help others less experienced. I am happy doing this day
Competent
I am competent doing this in daylight, or if there is someone more experienced with me
Basic
I have only done this a few times, but I am willing to learn
None
I have not done this before
Steer a compass course x
Keep lookout/watch-keeping x
Trimming sails – mainsail and foresail/jib x
Reefing x
Working the foredeck – setting sails including spinnakers and cruising chutes x
Navigating with GPS and paper charts at sea x
Anchoring and handling anchors x
Cooking at sea x
Using dinghies with outboard motors x
Heaving-to and other heavy weather tactics x

Other nautical or relevant qualifications

Qualification Awarding Level Year
Wilderness First Responder NOLS WFR 2020
brought to you by