Paul Asker, male, 56

Ref 45609

Nationality: United States
Currently based in: West Bloomfield Township, United States
Looking for: Caribbean; Central & North America; Mediterranean & Black Sea;
Experience: 100 ocean miles / 2000 coastal miles
I am a team player that is anxious to learn, loves adventure and will not be outworked. I am comfortable in a very diverse set of environments. I love meeting new people. I believe in competence and am willing to make the sacrifices necessary to obtain it. I am a "reformed attorney" and the father of 3 adult sons, who are almost as good as your kids. I practiced business and real estate law for many years, but started a real estate development and management firm about six years ago. The departure of my kids and movement from active law practice to a more passive income model has opened up some free time in my life that I have filled with sailing and other activities (e.g., tennis, mountain biking, skiiing, live music, hiking, ice boating and traveling). I have a very international mindset, as I am a first generation American and was very active for a while in my immigrant community in the US. I also have a masters degree in International Relations from the London School of Economics. I started sailing monohulls about 5 years ago after becoming "keel boat certified" in San Diego Bay (California). I have raced much in day races and some overnights mainly on the Great Lakes (unsalted). I have some experience on catamarans (Leopard 38). I have owned and sailed extensively on Flying Scotts, Catalina 22, Lasers, and my current boat is a Tartan T3000 (30' full sloop built in Cleveland OH USA). I race a few couple of times a week and cruise most other days out of Crescent Sail Yacht Club on Lake Saint Claire (Detroit/Grosse Pointe, Michigan USA). I have crewed on the Port Huron to Mackinac race (Lake Huron), done several overnight races within lake St Clair and delivered boats to and from the great lakes locations. I sailed Sardinia in 2019.
Smoking: non-smoker
Relationship status: single
Dietary requirements: None
Languages: English;
Social Links:


Paul’s Sailing Experience

Number of years sailing: 4 to 9
Sea miles sailed: Ocean: 100 / Coastal: 2000
Nights at sea: 1-10
I have experience as: Coastal Skipper
print
Invite this crew to
Sailing Skills Experienced
I have done this many times and am confident to help others less experienced. I am happy doing this day
Competent
I am competent doing this in daylight, or if there is someone more experienced with me
Basic
I have only done this a few times, but I am willing to learn
None
I have not done this before
Steer a compass course x
Keep lookout/watch-keeping x
Trimming sails – mainsail and foresail/jib x
Reefing x
Working the foredeck – setting sails including spinnakers and cruising chutes x
Navigating with GPS and paper charts at sea x
Anchoring and handling anchors x
Cooking at sea x
Using dinghies with outboard motors x
Heaving-to and other heavy weather tactics x

Other nautical or cruising skills

Using VHF radiox
Diesel engine maintenancex
Outboard engine maintenancex

Other nautical or relevant qualifications

Qualification Awarding Level Year
International Offshore Safety At Sea Course With Hands On Training World Sailing/US Sailing Completion of Course 2018
Keel Boat Certified US Sailing Certified 2017
Adult Learn to Sail 3 Month Course Crescent Sail Yacht Club (Michigan, USA) Completion 2017
brought to you by