Mike Wilkinson, male, 66

Ref 48690

Nationality: United Kingdom
Currently based in: ROCHESTER, United Kingdom
Looking for: Worldwide opportunities
Experience: 5000 ocean miles / 5000 coastal miles
I am a 66 year old retired engineer living in UK. I ran my own specialist engineering business for 40 years prior to retiring last year I have been sailing since my late 20's and have had several yachts, my first being a modest 21 ft bilge keeler followed by a 25 ft cruising yacht than a 34 ft OOD 34, an offshore one design racer. I raced this latter yacht in RORC and other offshore races for over 20 years, the last 10 years being mainly 2 handed. Races included the AZAB - Four Fastnet races, Four YM Triangle races and many thousands of miles of costal cruising. My current yacht a Bowman 48 has been bought specifically to visit many parts of the World to include the pacific
Smoking: non-smoker
Relationship status: partnered
Dietary requirements: None
Languages: English;
Social Links:


Mike’s Sailing Experience

Number of years sailing: 10+
Sea miles sailed: Ocean: 5000 / Coastal: 5000
Nights at sea: 50+
I have experience as: Captain (Offshore)
print
Invite this crew to
Sailing Skills Experienced
I have done this many times and am confident to help others less experienced. I am happy doing this day
Competent
I am competent doing this in daylight, or if there is someone more experienced with me
Basic
I have only done this a few times, but I am willing to learn
None
I have not done this before
Steer a compass course x
Keep lookout/watch-keeping x
Trimming sails – mainsail and foresail/jib x
Reefing x
Working the foredeck – setting sails including spinnakers and cruising chutes x
Navigating with GPS and paper charts at sea x
Anchoring and handling anchors x
Cooking at sea x
Using dinghies with outboard motors x
Heaving-to and other heavy weather tactics x

Other nautical or cruising skills

Using VHF radiox
Diesel engine maintenancex
Outboard engine maintenancex
Using radarx
brought to you by