Michael Motyka, male, 43

Ref 44495

Nationality: United States
Currently based in: Park City, United States
Looking for: Worldwide opportunities
Experience: 0 ocean miles / 1000 coastal miles
I'm 43, was born in Austria, and have lived most of my life in California and Hawaii. Now live in Park City, UT, started sailing in Santa Barbara, CA. I've been a lifeguard, paddled outrigger canoes, triathlete, owned a center console fishing boat, most sailing experience is on small boats...I have been surfing, paddling, and generally around the ocean for 25 years (lived on the North Shore of Oahu for 14 years) so i am very comfortable around the water. I now own a Catalina 26 in San Diego. I've been a restaurant owner for 20 years, so I know what it takes to run successful teams and work with others. Trying to gain as much sailing experience as possible, and currently own a seasonal restaurant which leaves me Oct thru April to commit to sailing.
Smoking: non-smoker
Relationship status: married
Dietary requirements: none
Languages: English;
Social Links:


Michael’s Sailing Experience

Number of years sailing: 4 to 9
Sea miles sailed: Ocean: 0 / Coastal: 1000
Nights at sea: 0
I have experience as: Crew
print
Invite this crew to
Sailing Skills Experienced
I have done this many times and am confident to help others less experienced. I am happy doing this day
Competent
I am competent doing this in daylight, or if there is someone more experienced with me
Basic
I have only done this a few times, but I am willing to learn
None
I have not done this before
Steer a compass course x
Keep lookout/watch-keeping x
Trimming sails – mainsail and foresail/jib x
Reefing x
Working the foredeck – setting sails including spinnakers and cruising chutes x
Navigating with GPS and paper charts at sea x
Anchoring and handling anchors x
Cooking at sea x
Using dinghies with outboard motors x
Heaving-to and other heavy weather tactics x
brought to you by