Matt Greer, male, 50

Ref 49460

Nationality: United States
Currently based in: Austin, United States
Looking for: Worldwide opportunities
Experience: 0 ocean miles / 300 coastal miles
Hello, I am 50 years old and live in Austin, Texas. I am a retired police Lieutenant and currently work as a school safety director. I bought my first sailboat, a Catalina 22, about 20 years ago and started sailing on Lake Travis. I've never taken any formal classes, but spent many days by myself or with friends on the lake, learning on my own, with the help of many books and videos! I fixed up my catalina 22 then sold it and bought a 25. Once the kids came, I had to sell that as well and backed off sailing for a while. I've been in a partnership on a catalina 30 for about 6 years. I've chartered cats in the BVI and bahamas 6 times. While I owned my boats, I bought a sailrite sewing machine and repaired canvas and built a mainsail. I'm recently divorced and my kids are old enough that they don't want to hang out with me all the time! Besides sailing, I practice and compete in brazilian jiu jitsu and play guitar in a cover band. I've thought a lot about spending more time on a sailboat and possibly living at least part time on a boat. But, I've never sailed any long passages and I really can't say for sure if its for me until I do. I'd be really interested in doing a week here and there to see how it goes. I drink, but only a beer/wine or two. Haven't drank too much in many years. I don't do any drugs.
Smoking: non-smoker
Relationship status: single
Dietary requirements:
Languages: English;
Social Links:


Matt’s Sailing Experience

Number of years sailing: 10+
Sea miles sailed: Ocean: 0 / Coastal: 300
Nights at sea: 0
I have experience as: Captain (Offshore)
print
Invite this crew to
Sailing Skills Experienced
I have done this many times and am confident to help others less experienced. I am happy doing this day
Competent
I am competent doing this in daylight, or if there is someone more experienced with me
Basic
I have only done this a few times, but I am willing to learn
None
I have not done this before
Steer a compass course x
Keep lookout/watch-keeping x
Trimming sails – mainsail and foresail/jib x
Reefing x
Working the foredeck – setting sails including spinnakers and cruising chutes x
Navigating with GPS and paper charts at sea x
Anchoring and handling anchors x
Cooking at sea x
Using dinghies with outboard motors x
Heaving-to and other heavy weather tactics x

Other nautical or cruising skills

Using VHF radiox
Repairing or making sailsx
brought to you by