Mark McDougall, male, 57

Ref 43574

Nationality: Canada
Currently based in: Brantford, Canada
Looking for: Worldwide opportunities
Experience: 5000 ocean miles / 1500 coastal miles
I captained my own boat through the Caribbean to South America 2003 to 2007, partly with crew, mostly single handing, often entirely under sail. This was after crewing on a boat for 5 months from Venezuela to USVI in the late 90s. Sailed on the great lakes in the interim.Taught special education in Canada prior to 2003. Found international teaching in late 2003 and have done that off and on ever since. All with the same organization on 4 different continents so far. Have taught from grade 2 level to AP Calculus and Chemistry as well as Literature and Writing up to senior British Literature, and Cultural Studies up to World Geography and World History, all sciences except advanced Physics, along with some Music, Technology, and Phys Ed. All international teaching was in a system where the passing grade was a B (80%). If I have a specialty it is developing independent and confident accelerated learners either getting to grade level or surpassing it. I enjoy reading, cooking, volleyball and several other sports, naturism, swimming, free diving, and sailing, I took scuba diving up to the master diver level, but prefer the free diving. Note: Though I do smoke, even on my own boats I only ever smoked on deck. In recent years I have ranged between 90% vaping and 90% smoking. I don't drink or do drugs of any kind, but I do think Canada made the right decision and I don't judge others. I enjoyed my cruising life and would like to experience it again. I took a year off in 2019 and then Covid came along. Seeking an interesting way to ride out the pandemic before finishing my teaching career. Although I have specified 6 to 8 months longer is possible in the right situation as well as going further afield. My grandson turns 18 in a few months and is building his own life now.
Smoking: smoker
Relationship status: single
Dietary requirements: None
Languages: English; French; Spanish;
Social Links:


Mark’s Sailing Experience

Number of years sailing: 4 to 9
Sea miles sailed: Ocean: 5000 / Coastal: 1500
Nights at sea: 50+
I have experience as: Captain (Offshore)
print
Invite this crew to
Sailing Skills Experienced
I have done this many times and am confident to help others less experienced. I am happy doing this day
Competent
I am competent doing this in daylight, or if there is someone more experienced with me
Basic
I have only done this a few times, but I am willing to learn
None
I have not done this before
Steer a compass course x
Keep lookout/watch-keeping x
Trimming sails – mainsail and foresail/jib x
Reefing x
Working the foredeck – setting sails including spinnakers and cruising chutes x
Navigating with GPS and paper charts at sea x
Anchoring and handling anchors x
Cooking at sea x
Using dinghies with outboard motors x
Heaving-to and other heavy weather tactics x

Other nautical or cruising skills

Using VHF radiox
Outboard engine maintenancex
Using radarx

Voyage History

Date Boat From/To Miles Role # Crew Rally
2003 Hughes 29 Florida/Venezuela 3500 Captain 0
2000 Hughes 29 Lake Huron/Lake Ontario 1500 Captain 1
1997 43 ft Morgan? Venezuela/USVI 1500 Crew 3
January 0 / 0 0
brought to you by