Mark Buss, male, 53

Ref 70572

Nationality: Canada
Currently based in: Vancouver, Canada
Looking for: Worldwide opportunities
Experience: 10 ocean miles / 1200 coastal miles
Began sailing to fulfill a lifelong dream which began as a child when my moms friend took us sailing in Finland. In 2020 I purchased my first sailboat (30ft Catalina) and started sailing every weekend, taking multi-day trips, as well as working through the RYA courses and recently completed Day Skipper in 2023 and earning my ICC. I have ROC-M (VHF license) and Canadian Red Cross Marine Basic First Aid with CPR/AED Level C. I also have Marine Diesel maintenance skills from working my own sailboat engine and have taken basic Marine Diesel Maintenance course to shore up my knowledge of marine engines. I am looking for off-shore experience and the opportunity to do an Atlantic Ocean passage. Hoping to crew on a yacht for ARC January 2025. -Mark
Smoking: non-smoker
Relationship status: married
Dietary requirements: None
Languages: English;
Social Links:

Mark’s Sailing Experience

Number of years sailing: 4 to 9
Sea miles sailed: Ocean: 10 / Coastal: 1200
Nights at sea: 1-10
I have experience as: Coastal Skipper
Invite this crew to
Sailing Skills Experienced
I have done this many times and am confident to help others less experienced. I am happy doing this day
I am competent doing this in daylight, or if there is someone more experienced with me
I have only done this a few times, but I am willing to learn
I have not done this before
Steer a compass course x
Keep lookout/watch-keeping x
Trimming sails – mainsail and foresail/jib x
Reefing x
Working the foredeck – setting sails including spinnakers and cruising chutes x
Navigating with GPS and paper charts at sea x
Anchoring and handling anchors x
Cooking at sea x
Using dinghies with outboard motors x
Heaving-to and other heavy weather tactics x

Other nautical or cruising skills

Using VHF radiox
Diesel engine maintenancex
Outboard engine maintenancex
brought to you by