marcus halbig, male, 53

Ref 47319

Nationality: Germany
Currently based in: Strasswalchen, Austria
Looking for: Worldwide opportunities
Experience: 1000 ocean miles / 4000 coastal miles
Hi, my name is Marcus. I was born in Germany, grew up in the US (New Jersey) but left again when I was 20. I have traveled the world, juggling as a street performer (www.MisterM.net) and about 20 years ago I settled down in Austria, close to Salzburg. I got married (still am), had 2 son's and still live in Strasswalchen which, unfortunately, is very far away from any salt water. I have built up a successful online business which I have sold this year and can finally fulfill my dream of crossing the ocean. I started sailing with my father as a child on an optimist and have been sailing ever since. I have my FB3 license which I did once in South Africa when I lived there for about 1 year and the second time in Austria since I was not able to charter in Europe with the South African Skippers Ticket. Generally, I go sailing 1-2x a year in the Mediterranean. I have delivered 4 boats in the Mediterranean. I am thinking about purchasing a boat to sail around the world for 2-3 years, but before I do this, I would like to see if my "Dream" of sailing the oceans is really something for me (which I think it is, I just want to be sure). BTW: 1. I like to cook 2. I am a part time EMT in Austria (volunteer) 3. I am handy with tools and am also a carpenter by trade. I look forward to hearing from you, All the best and happy sails. Marcus
Smoking: non-smoker
Relationship status: married
Dietary requirements: none - prefer vegetarian but it is not a must.
Languages: English; German;
Social Links:


marcus’s Sailing Experience

Number of years sailing: 10+
Sea miles sailed: Ocean: 1000 / Coastal: 4000
Nights at sea: 11-49
I have experience as: Coastal Skipper
print
Invite this crew to
Sailing Skills Experienced
I have done this many times and am confident to help others less experienced. I am happy doing this day
Competent
I am competent doing this in daylight, or if there is someone more experienced with me
Basic
I have only done this a few times, but I am willing to learn
None
I have not done this before
Steer a compass course x
Keep lookout/watch-keeping x
Trimming sails – mainsail and foresail/jib x
Reefing x
Working the foredeck – setting sails including spinnakers and cruising chutes x
Navigating with GPS and paper charts at sea x
Anchoring and handling anchors x
Cooking at sea x
Using dinghies with outboard motors x
Heaving-to and other heavy weather tactics x

Other nautical or cruising skills

Using VHF radiox
Using radarx
brought to you by