Luke Fletcher, male, 29

Ref 47642

Nationality: Ireland
Currently based in: Cork, Ireland
Looking for: Worldwide opportunities
Experience: 7000 ocean miles / 2000 coastal miles
Hi Everyone ( Dia Dhuit ) We are Megan and Luke! Megan and and I are both from a small sea-side town about 35km from Dublin, Ireland. We have worked and travelled for the last couple of years but are currently in Ireland and looking for our next adventure. We have known each other since we have been teenagers. I work with animals and in conservation. I have degrees in both agriculture and wildlife conservation. I have spent the last 4 years working abroad and travelling. I have experience teaching students, working on conservation projects, guiding outdoor activities and working in tourism. I have worked with sled dogs in Iceland, with turtles in Greece, penguins in New Zealand and has taught students about conservation in Fiji, Tanzania and Peru. I have experience of boats of all sizes and I'm eager to learn more about sailing. I have my wilderness first aid certificate, kayaking instructor qualification and experience leading tours. I'm currently studying sustainability and love all things nature, animals and David Attenborough. Megan worked on a yacht sailing from Indonesia to South Africa in 2019. She thought it was brilliant! She lived with the family on board for 4 months. She helped on night watches, teaching the children and day to day chores. The family also asked her to boat-sit in Mauritius for one month and look after their cat. (Everything ran smoothly and she didn't sink the boat). Megan grew up on boats and start dinghy sailing when she was 8. We both love being on the water and enjoy surfing, scuba diving and kayaking. We love anything outdoorsy. We are always up for a hike, a cycle or a stroll along the beach. We love meeting new people and sharing stories. We both consider ourselves friendly, chatty and always up for a good laugh. We are very very easy going and will just go with the flow but still are hard working and driven.
Smoking: non-smoker
Relationship status: partnered
Dietary requirements: None
Languages: English;
Social Links:


Luke’s Sailing Experience

Number of years sailing: 10+
Sea miles sailed: Ocean: 7000 / Coastal: 2000
Nights at sea: 11-49
I have experience as: Watch Leader
print
Invite this crew to
Sailing Skills Experienced
I have done this many times and am confident to help others less experienced. I am happy doing this day
Competent
I am competent doing this in daylight, or if there is someone more experienced with me
Basic
I have only done this a few times, but I am willing to learn
None
I have not done this before
Steer a compass course x
Keep lookout/watch-keeping x
Trimming sails – mainsail and foresail/jib x
Reefing x
Working the foredeck – setting sails including spinnakers and cruising chutes x
Navigating with GPS and paper charts at sea x
Anchoring and handling anchors x
Cooking at sea x
Using dinghies with outboard motors x
Heaving-to and other heavy weather tactics x

Other nautical or cruising skills

Using VHF radiox

Voyage History

Date Boat From/To Miles Role # Crew Rally
2019 Catamaran Bali /south africa 7000 Watch-leader 5
brought to you by