Luís Silva, male, 42

Ref 49166

Nationality: Portugal
Currently based in: Porto, Portugal
Looking for: Worldwide opportunities
Experience: 5000 ocean miles / 10000 coastal miles
I started sailing when I was 9 years old. Optimist, Vaurien, 420, Laser Radial and Snipe. Until the age of 22 years old I was a very active sailor, training and competing, always as Helmsman. I participated in 5 World Championships representing the Portuguese national team. My best international results where a 4th place in junior and a 15th overall in another championship. I was 2 times national champion. In 1997 I integrated a FPVela (Portuguese Sailing Federation) pre-olympic program. I sailed yachts since I was very young, starting in friend’s father boat. At the age of 15 years old I started doing IMS and ORC regattas, course and coastal, in Porto (Portugal), and north of Spain (Baiona, Sanxenxo and Vigo). I started as Bowman, then Trimmer and now I mainly do Helmsman or Tactician. I participated in 3 Canarias-Madeira Offshore regattas. My best results were winning the Trofeo Principe das Asturias and 3rd place in the Spanish National ORC Regatta aboard Cenor Sailing Team (Farr54). Since I was 16 years old I transported many boats to the south of Portugal and to the North of Spain. Since I was 18 years old until the age of 25 I coached young competition sailors on Laser std and radial. Currently I sail mainly in yachts doing an estimate of 40 days of sailing a year. I was the Commodore of Clube de Vela Atlântico (one of the most prestigious sailing clubs of Portugal) until 2021 where I took part in organising many international and national regattas like the 2017 49er World Championships, for example. I also took part in National regattas as Jury through the years. I have coastal sailing (day and night) qualifications. STCW done in late 2021. I co-own a Dehler 39 anchored in Madeira Islands - Portugal. In 2021 I’ve participated and won both the “Porto Santo Airlines Regatta” and the “Canary Islands - Madeira Regatta” as Skipper.
Smoking: non-smoker
Relationship status:
Dietary requirements:
Languages: English; French; Spanish; Portuguese
Social Links:


Luís’s Sailing Experience

Number of years sailing: 10+
Sea miles sailed: Ocean: 5000 / Coastal: 10000
Nights at sea: 50+
I have experience as: Captain (Offshore)
print
Invite this crew to
Sailing Skills Experienced
I have done this many times and am confident to help others less experienced. I am happy doing this day
Competent
I am competent doing this in daylight, or if there is someone more experienced with me
Basic
I have only done this a few times, but I am willing to learn
None
I have not done this before
Steer a compass course x
Keep lookout/watch-keeping x
Trimming sails – mainsail and foresail/jib x
Reefing x
Working the foredeck – setting sails including spinnakers and cruising chutes x
Navigating with GPS and paper charts at sea x
Anchoring and handling anchors x
Cooking at sea x
Using dinghies with outboard motors x
Heaving-to and other heavy weather tactics x
brought to you by