Julian Gordon, male, 51

Ref 18341

Nationality: United Kingdom
Currently based in: Ipswich, United Kingdom
Looking for: Western Europe & North Atlantic Islands;
Experience: 4000 ocean miles / 2500 coastal miles
I completed the RYA Competent Crew course in August 2016, sailing from Falmouth to the Scilly Isles on the windy waters off the Atlantic coast: 5 days sailing and a night passage. Great fun and learned loads about basic crewmanship: being at the helm, tying knots, safety, man overboard, letting out sails, etiquette on-board, road rules and signage. Following this, I sailed with a skipper advertising on Crewseekers, going from Marmaris in Turkey along the East Aegean coast, anchoring and mooring a little beyond Bodrum and then jumping around Greek islands. A great month's sailing experience from late August to late September of the same year. In mid October 2016, I sailed a 330 mile passage from Crete to Cyprus, which involved being at the helm over 2 nights and 3 days. In November 2016, I went to Gran Canaria and joined a yacht making the trans-Atlantic crossing to Barbados, via Cape Verde. We made the 900 mile crossing to Cape Verde in 8 days. On the Barbados leg of the crossing, 70 miles out, the boom of the mainsail snapped. We motored back to Cape Verde, so concluding a disappointing end. I flew to Jamaica in December 2016 and wintered there, and had the opportunity to sail from Kingston to Santiago de Cuba, Cuba and back to Kingston Jamaica. Another trans-Atlantic bite of the cherry in November 2017 from Lanzarote to Cape Verde to Barbados, this time resulting in a successful passage. Over the course of 16 months, I'd sailed a total of 6,500 nm. I am a qualified English teacher from Cambridge, England with 16 years of teaching experience. I've also taught in Madrid for half a year. I'm now working in Ipswich, Suffolk and would like to get involved in sailing around this area during weekends. My other interests include hiking, climbing, cycling, visiting interesting places, and reading. I'm fit and maintain a healthy, ethical, mostly vegan diet. I like fine wine, single malt whiskey, and music, particularly jazz and live music. I enjoy playing guitar. I also enjoy learning other languages, including Spanish and French, and would like to spend time in Spanish and French speaking countries to become fluent.
Smoking: non-smoker
Relationship status:
Dietary requirements: Mostly vegan
Languages: English; French; Spanish;
Social Links:


Julian’s Sailing Experience

Number of years sailing: 1 to 3
Sea miles sailed: Ocean: 4000 / Coastal: 2500
Nights at sea: 11-49
I have experience as: Crew
print
Invite this crew to
Sailing Skills Experienced
I have done this many times and am confident to help others less experienced. I am happy doing this day
Competent
I am competent doing this in daylight, or if there is someone more experienced with me
Basic
I have only done this a few times, but I am willing to learn
None
I have not done this before
Steer a compass course x
Keep lookout/watch-keeping x
Trimming sails – mainsail and foresail/jib x
Reefing x
Working the foredeck – setting sails including spinnakers and cruising chutes x
Navigating with GPS and paper charts at sea x
Anchoring and handling anchors x
Cooking at sea x
Using dinghies with outboard motors x
Heaving-to and other heavy weather tactics x

Voyage History

Date Boat From/To Miles Role # Crew Rally
January 0 / 0 0
brought to you by