Jonathan Ross, male, 59

Ref 8673

Nationality: Australia
Currently based in: Melbourne, Australia
Looking for: Worldwide opportunities
Experience: 10000 ocean miles / 5000 coastal miles
I'm an Australian YachtMaster who lives in France (6 months of the year) with my French wife, looking for sailing opportunities, preferably around the Mediterranean. I have done a lot of onboard sailing tuition, helping owners just starting out gain confidence and experience. You can learn more on my website at https://jonathanrosssailing.com/index.php/our-sailing-services/sailing-tuition I have been sailing since I was a teenager across a wide range of boats, in both dinghies and yachts. I've crewed and skippered a wide range of boats, both monohulls and catamarans in the Med, Caribbean, Atlantic and Pacific.
Smoking: non-smoker
Relationship status: married
Dietary requirements: none
Languages: English; French;
Social Links:


Jonathan’s Sailing Experience

Number of years sailing: 10+
Sea miles sailed: Ocean: 10000 / Coastal: 5000
Nights at sea: 50+
I have experience as: Captain (Offshore)
print
Invite this crew to
Sailing Skills Experienced
I have done this many times and am confident to help others less experienced. I am happy doing this day
Competent
I am competent doing this in daylight, or if there is someone more experienced with me
Basic
I have only done this a few times, but I am willing to learn
None
I have not done this before
Steer a compass course x
Keep lookout/watch-keeping x
Trimming sails – mainsail and foresail/jib x
Reefing x
Working the foredeck – setting sails including spinnakers and cruising chutes x
Navigating with GPS and paper charts at sea x
Anchoring and handling anchors x
Cooking at sea x
Using dinghies with outboard motors x
Heaving-to and other heavy weather tactics x

Other nautical or cruising skills

Using VHF radiox
Diesel engine maintenancex
Using radarx

Voyage History

Date Boat From/To Miles Role # Crew Rally
2019 Lagoon 52 Sydney/Cape York 2000 Watch-leader 4 no
2019 84 Mallorca /Barcelaona (via Gibraltar) 1000 Captain 4
brought to you by