Jonathan Dawes, male, 47

Ref 48899

Nationality: United States
Currently based in: Glasgow, United Kingdom
Looking for: Worldwide opportunities
Experience: 1 ocean miles / 1 coastal miles
A tinkerer and Jack of All Trades, I am curious and always studying, learning and practicing new skills. I've practiced law in Washington, DC, raced V8 American muscle cars, sailed the Chesapeake Bay, run old diesels on vegetable oil, owned small businesses, studied and practiced horticulture, and hiked across Alaska, the UK and Midwestern USA. I am easily bored and am always looking to make use of the short time I have on this blue planet. I began sailing in the early 1990s while in college in South Florida. A salty fellow from Nantucket 'taught' myself and my girlfriend at the time to sail on an Oday 26, in the ICW (Intracoastal Waterway). Eventually some nudging convinced the parents to buy a 1965ish Cheeoy Lee 37. I only got to go out in the Atlantic once, and it was amazing. Fastforward...a lot...and I did some lake sailing on small monohulls, one sail on a Hobiecat, and eventually in 2005 my family purchased a Hunter 25 trailer sailor. This boat lived in the Chesapeake, and I sailed her every fall and winter weekend for 6 months. It was amazing. But that boat was sold and since then I've been pining for the water. Apparently, on my mother's 'McMurtrey' side, we were ship captains that sailed from Ayr on Scotland's south western coast. I now have a family and am hoping against hope to get them out on the water! My wife gets terrible motion sickness, like sitting in a hammock makes her ill, but my 5 year old daughter is up for adventure! I am currently working through my Day Skipper theory, and will take the practical test once the theory is passed. I'm scheduled to leave 1 May 2022 with GoWest to join Global Surveyor in Ponta delgada, Azores, to sail back to Largs, Scotland. Should be an exciting trip! Some day, I'd like to get my family onto a boat and live on it for a few years and see where that leads. Thanks for reading, Jon
Smoking: non-smoker
Relationship status: married
Dietary requirements:
Languages: English; German;
Social Links:


Jonathan’s Sailing Experience

Number of years sailing: 1 to 3
Sea miles sailed: Ocean: 1 / Coastal: 1
Nights at sea: 0
I have experience as: Crew
print
Invite this crew to
Sailing Skills Experienced
I have done this many times and am confident to help others less experienced. I am happy doing this day
Competent
I am competent doing this in daylight, or if there is someone more experienced with me
Basic
I have only done this a few times, but I am willing to learn
None
I have not done this before
Steer a compass course x
Keep lookout/watch-keeping x
Trimming sails – mainsail and foresail/jib x
Reefing x
Working the foredeck – setting sails including spinnakers and cruising chutes x
Navigating with GPS and paper charts at sea x
Anchoring and handling anchors x
Cooking at sea x
Using dinghies with outboard motors x
Heaving-to and other heavy weather tactics x

Other nautical or cruising skills

Diesel engine maintenancex
Outboard engine maintenancex
brought to you by