Jerry Washmon, male, 70

Ref 35738

Nationality: United States
Currently based in: Coronado, United States
Looking for: South America; South East Asia & East Asia; South Pacific Islands;
Experience: 5000 ocean miles / 10000 coastal miles
Have been a boater all my life. Charter cat in Maui 4 yrs, Charter cat in Costa Rica 8 yrs, Deliveries and crossings from California to Malta, 5 Panama Canal transits. Living on this 45 Custom Ketch for last 6 years. Almost all newly outfited with water maker, 2 dinghies 20hp and electric, fridge and freezer, lithium batteries, LED lights throughout, Solar 830w, all new electronics, anchor windlass, etc, etc,
Smoking: non-smoker
Relationship status: married
Dietary requirements:
Languages: English; French; Spanish;
Social Links:


Jerry’s Sailing Experience

Number of years sailing: 10+
Sea miles sailed: Ocean: 5000 / Coastal: 10000
Nights at sea: 50+
I have experience as: Captain (Offshore)
print
Invite this crew to
Sailing Skills Experienced
I have done this many times and am confident to help others less experienced. I am happy doing this day
Competent
I am competent doing this in daylight, or if there is someone more experienced with me
Basic
I have only done this a few times, but I am willing to learn
None
I have not done this before
Steer a compass course x
Keep lookout/watch-keeping x
Trimming sails – mainsail and foresail/jib x
Reefing x
Working the foredeck – setting sails including spinnakers and cruising chutes x
Navigating with GPS and paper charts at sea x
Anchoring and handling anchors x
Cooking at sea x
Using dinghies with outboard motors x
Heaving-to and other heavy weather tactics x

Other nautical or cruising skills

Using a sextant for astro-navigationx
Using VHF radiox
Diesel engine maintenancex
Outboard engine maintenancex
Repairing or making sailsx
Using radarx
brought to you by